Lists

Paranormal Book Series I’m Not Going to Finish

I’m not much of a fan of paranormal YA books. There was a time when I used to hoard these books, but now, the more I diverse my reading, the more I’m distancing myself from that particular genre. However, I hope that some time in the future, I re-attach myself to these books. So, in the list below of book series I’m not going to finish, pertaining to the  paranormal-fantasy genre. I just want to disclaim beforehand that I don’t mean to offend anyone, and this is my personal opinion on the books. Here goes –

1) Gone series by Michael Grant

I just couldn’t get into this series. I think it was a poor execution of a good concept, the author failed to make the book gripping enough. Poor writing, poor character development and ineffective storyline. In fact, I hated this book so much that I couldn’t even finish it. Yeah, I almost always never leave a book unfinished, but this book….meh. There’s no way I’m picking up this series or anything by this author ever in the future.

2) Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordian

*cringes inwardly*. I’ll probably get a lot of hate for this, but I can’t deny the fact either. I just couldn’t read this. I read till the third book, literally forced myself to do, but just couldn’t go beyond it. My problem with the book was that it was too mixed up, kiddish and lame, in a way. I read it when I was 14, I presume, and I really wish that I ha read it earlier, at a younger age, maybe then I’d have enjoyed it. But, I’m definitely not continuing with this.

3) Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare

Again, I’m getting a lot of hate for this. Sigh. This book had too much of everything – literally so many supernatural characters and unnecessary elements. It was too mixed up and I just couldn’t get attached to the story. I’ve read the first three books and I couldn’t will myself to go on.

4) Bloodlines series by Richelle Mead

I absolutely loved Richelle Mead’s Vampire Academy series, and thus it was with really high expectations that I began with this one. Add that to the amazing-ness of Adrian. Woah. But. I was so heavily disappointed. Whereas the first book was fine enough, I disliked the second book and couldn’t even complete the third one. Definitely not picking this up any time in the future.

5) Lux series by Jennifer L. Armentrout

The first three books were fantastic, but the ending of the fourth book absolutely ruined the series. Not just the ending, but the entire fourth book was a bad read for me. When I read this series, the fifth book (Opposition) was not yet released and at that time, I had wanted to finish the series, but now, the more I’m moving away from the series, the least likely I am to pick up the fifth book.

6) The Maze Runner series by James Dashner

I enjoyed the first book, had a good concept but poor writing. However, the second book, I don’t know what happened to me but I just couldn’t read on. I couldn’t go beyond the first 30 pages of the second book, and I’m pretty sure I’m not going to complete this series any time in the future.

So…this is pretty much it. Paranormal fans probably want to kill me now, but as I said before, these are my opinions and I did not mean to offend anyone.

Thanks for reading!

One thought on “Paranormal Book Series I’m Not Going to Finish

Leave a Reply

