Book Buying

Recent Bookish Buys (#1)

Snapchat--6326167454891003342

All the books in the picture above were bought from the end of July to today (since one of the books was delivered just now). Most of these books have been bought at cheap bookstores where the books are sold at less than the half price, even. A couple of books out of the pile are second hand and look so very old, but never mind, my happiness lies in collecting and reading these books. A few of these books were ordered online, I recently started using Amazon and love it already :D

So, without further ado, let’s get to the books!

1. Matched by Ally Condie

All I know about this book is that it is a part of a trilogy wherein the story basically revolves around a dystopian world in which your partner is chosen for you and the girl probably goes ahead and falls in love with someone (?) I have no other idea about this book but I sure am excited! Will get around to this soon, I hope.

Snapchat-2895864512349352351

2. Blue Bloods by Melissa de la Cruz

I have literally no idea what this is about, except that it is related to vampires. I haven’t read anything vampire-ish in a while and this book was so cheap so I just picked it up without even thinking. I don’t think I’m going to read it anytime in the future, but you never know!

Snapchat--6183038330221933745

3. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah. J. Maas

This book is probably the most hyped release of the year. It is supposedly a retelling of a fairy tale, and it looks very, very interesting. Plus, I’m currently reading the Throne of Glass series by the same author, which is fantastic, btw, so I’m definitely going to read this one pretty soon.

Snapchat--4385104314987004339

4. Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas

Third book in the Throne of Glass series, and my next read. I read the first two books in my kindle, and wanted the physical copy of the 3rd and 4th book, so I went ahead and ordered it online. For those who don’t know, this series is a story of an assassin, who gets selected as the King’s Champion, and that’s about all I can say without giving spoilers. Go into the book knowing just that much (that the female lead is an assassin) and you’ll be very surprised with where the author takes you.

Snapchat-1977062250089255819

5. To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee

I’ve already read this book, at a pretty young age though, and I really wanted to add this to my collection. In fact, this is the book which turned me into a book-buying addict. This is a masterpiece of a classic, and I’m reading it currently, again, because how can you not re-read your favorites?

Snapchat-9135914209955521654

6. Go Set A Watchman by Harper Lee

Okay, so tbh, this book is the reason why I bought TKAM in the first place. I really wanted to read this one, but since I didn’t really remember much of the first book, I thought of buying both and re-reading TKAM before moving on to the sequel. I have no idea what this is about, I’m still on TKAM but I’ll be reading this very soon.

Snapchat-7050347841739367118

7. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

Another classic I’ve already read, and another book I wanted to add to my shelves. I bought this at a book fair in my school and I can’t wait to re-read this!

Snapchat-327648259532581900

8. The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman

Okay, so I’ve heard loads about Neil Gaiman, but still haven’t ventured into his books, which is a shame. This book arrived today, and it’s so tiny. It’s a fantasy young adult book and winner of so many various awards, that I’m kinda hesitant to pick it up. My experience with award-winning books hasn’t been that good. But considering the fact that it’s really short and tiny, I’m sure I’ll be able to finish it off in an afternoon. Looking forward to this!

Snapchat-7754056855828512224

9. The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman

Another book which has won loads of awards. The Graveyard book is about a boy called Nobody Owens who has apparently lost his family and is raised by ghosts (?!?!). Sounds very strange, but I’m definitely excited to try this out. Also, I simply love the cover.

Snapchat-4161622583470595682

10. Every Day by David Levithan

I’m super pumped for this book, mainly for the reason that it’s contemporary and has an amazing cover. All I know of this book is that it is the story about a boy who enters different bodies each day, and his adventures and experiences. Seems interesting and one of those books which touches you and makes you feel.

Snapchat-2389230316206009623

11. The Giver by Louis Lowry

I don’t really want to read this book (I know, I know, it’s supposed to be amazing) but honestly, I don’t feel like reading this. Mainly because it is a children’s fantasy book, which means that maybe it’s full of kiddish gibberish (?). But I dunno, I may pick this up some day and finish it off in a couple of hours. Let’s hope so.

Snapchat-5399710915896385477

12. The Zahir by Paulo Coelho

No idea what this is about, but I trust Paulo Coelho.

Snapchat--1988607696729778460

13. The Silkworm by Robert Galbraith (J. K. Rowling)

I already read this, and it was amazing, tbh. I wasn’t much of a fan of The Cuckoo’s Calling, the first book in the series, but this one was better. J. K. Rowling’s writing was fantastic, and that is the highlight of the book. How does she write so well? The story too, I was a huge fan of. Absolutely recommended if you love to read mysteries.

Snapchat-1360713988797229806

14. The Memory Keeper’s Daughter by Kim Edwards

This book is supposed to be an emotional ride, and I simply cannot wait to read this. Two twins, separated at birth, and the entire drama that unfolds. Can’t wait to read this!

Snapchat--2321941670411967065

15. Nineteen Minutes by Jodi Picoult

Jodi Picoult is one of my top favorite authors, and I’ve loved everything I’ve read of hers. She is an amazing author and every chance I get of reading something written by her is a privilege. This book caught my eye in a tiny bookshelf and I can’t even express my hopes and expectations from this book.

Snapchat--6093377806564449537

So, these were the books I recently bought and plan on reading (at least some of them) in the near future. Have you read any of these? Tell me whether you liked the book(s) or not in the comments below!

Happy Reading!

9 thoughts on “Recent Bookish Buys (#1)

Leave a Reply

