Book Buying

Recent Bookish Buys (#2)

IMG_20151220_151137

It’s been two months since I posted my last book haul and I feel like I’ve accumulated enough books to post another one now! All the books in the picture above, I’ve acquired over the last two months, and I think now it’s time to put a stop to this obsessive book hoarding I’ve been doing :( So, anyway, here are all of the books –

 

1) Kafka on the Shore by Haruki Murakami

IMG_20151220_152734

I’ve read just one other book by Murakami (Norwegian Wood) and that one single book was enough to convince me that I need to read more by this author. Fluent, poignant writing is what impressed me and the story was strangely engrossing and thought-provoking. I have often heard that Kafka on the Shore is among his bests, and thus I felt compelled to buy this.

2. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

IMG_20151220_152922

I read this book in 2013, and I liked it. I didn’t go all gaga over it, like most people did; for me, it was just okay-okay. However, now that Carry On released (which is kind of a spin-off of Fangirl), I really wanted to re-read Fangirl to see whether I loved the Simon-Baz parts or not. Sadly, even though I loved the book this time around, I kinda got bored by Simon and Baz by the ending of the book. Thus, am giving Carry On a miss. (Comment below if you think I should still read Carry On).

3. Wuthering Heights – Emily Bronte

IMG_20151220_153016

This is probably one classic I’ve read so many times I’ve lost count. It’s one of my favorite books ever, and each time I re-read it, I love it even more. Sadly, I didn’t own a copy until one day I decided that I had to have it. So, I ordered it online! :D

4. Half-Bad by Sally Green

IMG_20151220_153114

I have no idea what this book is about. The cover looked intrigung, and it’s supposedly fantasy, so I thought why not give it a try? Still haven’t read it, tho :(

5. Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro

IMG_20151220_152840

All I’ve heard of this book is that it’s emotional, touching, and a literary fiction. Honestly, a book doesn’t have to be anything else to make me want to read it. I’ve heard phenomenal things about this book, and can’t wait to finally pick this up!

6. Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas

IMG_20151220_153050

This is the fourth installment in the amazing Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas, and it was SO good! I literally read this book in two days, I simply couldn’t put it down. If you love fantasy and haven’t already picked this series up, do give it a try!

7. Looking For Alaska by John Green

IMG_20151220_152940

This is another book I read long back, but wished to own, since this is one of the only two John Green books I loved. This was on sale in Crossword, and I couldn’t resist picking it up :D

8. Let’s Get Lost by Adi Alsaid

IMG_20151220_152859

From the moment I saw this book on GoodReads, I’ve wanted to read it. Mainly, because it’s about a roadtrip, and, it has such a gorgeous cover! I absolutely can’t wait to get to this book!!

9. I Was Here by Gayle Forman

IMG_20151220_154946

This is the only Gayle Forman book I haven’t yet read and I’ve mostly loved everything written by her (except for Just One Day). I wanted to end this year knowing that I had completed all of the books she’s written till now, and that’s the sole reason of my buying this book. In fact, I’m currently reading it and so far, I think it’s a good read.

10. Harry Potter Box Set (Children’s Edition) by J.K. Rowling

IMG_20151212_165400

It’s been years since I read this series, but never really owned it, which was always like a void in my bookshelf. Then, I started saving up my pocket money, trying to cut down on any kind of unnecessary expenses and finally, FINALLY, ordered this book online. Words can’t express how happy I was when this box set was delivered. The books are absolutely beautiful, and when seen from a particular angle, the golden letters on the spine literally shine :) I can’t wait to dive into this series once again!

 

So…this was it for my latest book haul. Hope you enjoyed seeing the books, and do comment below about your views on the books…or if there is any particular book you want me to read!

Leave a Reply

