Lists

Favorite Books of 2015

Today feels like a perfect day to post my list of ‘Favorite 2015 Books’. Upon a lot (and I mean literally, a lot) of deliberation, I have finally narrowed down the list to 10 books. I had initially short-listed 16 books, but I cut it down to 10 (a pat on my back for that :P). Two items on this list are series, and two items are re-reads. I read a total of 117 books this year, which I am mighty proud of, and these are my best reads of 2015 :

(in no particular order)

1. One Day by David Nicholls

6280118

This was the first book I read this year, and I could not have wished for a better start to my reading year. The raw emotions or the poignant writing – what do I say about this? I think the best aspect of this book, hands down, is how and what it made me feel. All the emotions I went through, all those tears and all that laughter, it was all such a beautiful experience. Must, must, must read.

2. Rebecca by Daphne De Maurier

rebecca

Both mysterious and romantic, this book is haunting and beautiful at the same time. It will hook you, and bewitch you. One of the best classics I’ve read!

3. Annie’s Song by Catherine Anderson

659600

This is probably one of the best books I’ve ever read. A hidden gem, this historical romance, with a touching, emotional setting and absolutely beautiful story. I’ve hardly ever read anything which made me feel so much, and I recommend it to everyone who reads love stories.

4. A Song of Ice and Fire by George R. R. Martin

51wspduy7kl-_sx258_bo1204203200_

This series doesn’t really need any such summary….it’s one of the most famous series, and brings fantasy to a whole new level. Intricate, detailed, gory and breathtaking.

5. Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn (Re-read)

719mp6xzm9l

This was a re-read for me, and I found that I enjoyed the re-read even more than the original read, which is ridiculous, but true. Just go into this book without knowing anything about it, and you’ll not be disapppointed :)

6. Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte (Re-read)

wuthering-heights

My favorite classic of all time, I couldn’t help re-reading this one too, this year.

7. Norwegian Wood by Haruki Murakami

11297

This was my first Murakami book, and he’s already become one of the best authors I’ve read! This book had a crazy, relatable story but what really amazed me was the writing. Murakami uses words beautifully, and I can’t wait to read more of this author this year!

8. The Storyteller by Jodi Picoult 

the-storyteller-395

Jodi Picoult is one of my top two favorite authors, and this book is my second favorite of her books. Deals mainly with the Second World War, but also very well blends in romance, family ties and the power of punishment.

9. Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas

maasseries-1

An assassin destined to rule…this series is SO very good. Fantasy, romance and action all get together to create this exciting, amazing piece of literature.

10. Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma

cvr9781442419964_9781442419964_hr

Probably one book I read this year which was both different and daring. Deals with some astounding issues, which will make you squirm, but do not give this book a miss. It’s painful, and beautiful and so very powerful.

 

SO, these were my favorite books of 2015 and I feel like I had a wonderful reading year. I hope I read more such books in this year too.

What about you guys? Comment below to share your favorite books of 2015!

4 thoughts on “Favorite Books of 2015

    1. Thank you so much! Next year won’t be so good actually….I’m going to 12th grade in two months and have decided to study rather than read :P My goal is to read 30 books this year :)

      Like

Leave a Reply

