Lists

Most Disappointing Books of 2015

I read loads of books this year, and it goes without saying that a lot of them were bad books. Just, bad. Reasons may vary but the end point is, I was hugely disappointed with a large number of the books I read this year. It’s only because I read a few really, amazingly good books too, this year, that I overall label the year as a ‘Good Reading Year’. But, to get more specific, out of the 117 books that I read, I did not like/was disappointed with 43 of them. And believe me when I say, narrowing it down to just 10 books was a HUGE task. Phew!

1. The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion

the_rosie_project

This book is just so famous on GoodReads. Almost everyone I know loves this book, “it’s so funny””the main character is so cute” has become general opinion now. So it was with very high expectations that I bought this book but damn! I didn’t find any depth, nor any humour, nor any so-called ‘cuteness’. It was just bland and just, so disappointing.

2. The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty

51y2k6kapsl-_sx326_bo1204203200_

This is another book I expected a lot from but it just felt flat. The story and the ‘secret’ was predictable, and I just felt so duh after the book. Like, what was all the hype about?

3. Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine

ella_enchanted_book_cover

I do not wish to speak about this book. That’s mainly because I don’t remember anything about it except for it being just, BAD.

4. Dead Souls by Nikolai Gogol

5374

Again. Same story as above. Do not remember. Do not even wish to remember.

5. Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery

hw_anne_of_green_gables_cover3

I know a lot of people probably hate me for putting this book on the list but then, I can’t help it. Thing is, I started reading it, and quite enjoyed it initially. Anne was cute and nice and the story was emotional. But then I don’t know what happened but I got really tired of her talking so much and just, irritating. I don’t think I even finished it, it just got so intolerable towards the end.

6. Gone by Michael Grant

gone_michael_grant

This book in general doesn’t have that good reviews, but that didn’t stop me from having expectations. And the reason is that the synopsis is quite intriguing. It had the potential to be a full-fledged, interesting, character-driven book but no! The author had to mess it up.

7. I’d Tell You I Love You But Then I’d Have To Kill You by Ally Carter

id_tell_you_i_love_you_but_then_id_have_to_kill_you

Couldn’t go beyond the first 100 pages.

8. Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

71zlxoecx4l

Okay, let’s get this cleared that I adore Rainbow Rowell. I’m absoluely in love with E&P and Fangirl and had high expectations from this book, as usually happens when you read something else by an author you love. But, I had major issues with this book – find review here. I had a major issue with the romance, and the way the story developed. Not a fan of this book.

9. Landline by Rainbow Rowell

18081809

I know! I just said I loved this author, then how  come I have two books by her in this list? Fact is, my love for E&P and Fangirl is far greater than my dislike for these two books, so yes, I love Rainbow Rowell and no, I don’t like these two books (Attachments and Landline) of hers. I didn’t like the concept of the book, and couldn’t connect to the romance and the characters. So, a dnf for me.

10. Every Day by David Levithan

51ixfx3chrl

Again, high expectations. No emotional connection to the story or the characters. Bland, flat writing.

 

That’s about it for my list of most disappointing books this year! Share some of yours!

Leave a Reply

