Book Reviews

November 9 – Colleen Hoover (Book Review)

25111004

Title : November 9

Author : Colleen Hoover

Rating : 4/5 stars

Genre : NA Contemporary, Romance

There are certain tropes I’m a sucker for. Time travel romances. Road trips. And definitely, books which concentrate on one particular date over a span of years. No wonder One Day by David Nicholls is one of my favorite books. And no wonder I absolutely loved November 9.

Yes, November 9 has its flaws, and in quite a few aspects is bound within the boundaries of a random NA novel setting. But I absolutely adored this book. It’s been a while since I finished off a book in a single day, and this book, I was done with in a matter of hours. Once in, I couldn’t want out; it just kept me reading and the pages kept turning without me even realizing it. The setting, the characters, the romance, the writing, and the tragic bits that always characterize CoHo books.

Benton Kessler, an aspiring novelist, finds his muse in Fallon O’Neal on 9th November, and after having spent a day together, they are aware enough of the spark between them that they decide to meet each other on the exact same date every year for the next five years. They promise to not interact with each other, and go on leading their own personal lives and then one year later, see where that gets them. Will this arrangement work out?

The writing is strong, powerful and devoid of pretentiouness and/or blandness. It is honest and real and the way CoHo keeps throwing plot twists at us is crazy. Just when you think the book can’t have anything more shocking to offer, you turn the next page and dang! Something you didn’t see coming happens.

I absolutely loved how everything which happens in the book only happens on 9th November. It’s a bit cliche, and maybe even dramatic but as I said, I’m a sucker for such plotlines and I aboslutely loved the setting here.

The romance had a good buildup and I know a lot of people consider it to be kinda “insta-lovey” but I don’t think it was that at all. What they shared that first November 9th was just a spark, or a connection, which can happen in real life too, and definitely doesn’t stand for ‘insta-love’. They only realize they love each other later on, and the whole developmet of the romance was SO GOOD!

The characters, I loved. Benton was amazing. He was dedicated, passionate and I can empathize with him for doing the things he did. And Fallon too was precious. Though I was a bit aggravated with how she behaved at the end of the third November 9th, I still loved how her character was formed and developed.

So all in all, it was amazing. I wish I could go back in time and start afresh with this book.

 

2 thoughts on “November 9 – Colleen Hoover (Book Review)

Leave a Reply

