Tags

Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

unpops

This tag is probably my favorite one to watch on BookTube. It’s so much fun to watch other people’s opinions on popular books, so I thought I might as well go ahead and participate in it and post my answers on my blog. So, here it is! A few of the questions have multiple answers, but I have limited each question to 3 answers so that this post doesn’t become too long. There are a few minor spoilers here and there. If there’s any major spoiler, I’ll inform you beforehand. Also, all the opinions below are personal; excuse me if I bash your favorite book.

A popular book or series that you didn’t like.

1. The Mortal Instrumens, The Infernal Devices – Cassandra Clare

Just…don’t. Don’t talk about these in front of me :/ I couldn’t event get through TMI, though TID I completed because it’s just three books and Jem. But seriously, the intensity of the popularity of these series is astounding to me. I just can’t fathom  how so many people can be such huge fans of the books.

2. Percy Jackson series – Rick Riordian

I could not complete this either. I read the first three books, literally trudged my way through them, only to give up at the third book due to various reasons. I felt the writing kiddish and immature, none of the characters felt too great for me, and I didn’t feel like the author did justice to Greek mythology. I mean, Greek myth is interesting but in the PJ books, it wasn’t dealt with well. However, I do feel that I would’ve enjoyed the books much more had I been younger when I read them.

3. The Rosie Project – Don Tillman

If you check out this book’s GoodReads page, you’ll see 4 and 5 stars ratings all around, with the words ‘hilarious’ and ‘cute’ popping up everywhere. Well, I did not find the book ‘cute’ and it most definitely wasn’t ‘hilarious’. The story was was good, but the impact too low.

A popular book/series that everyone seems to hate but you love.

1. Jodi Picoult books

She’s one of my top two favorite authors, but sadly I feel like not enough people are aware, or appreciate the magic she creates with her words. Her books are horribly underrated and the Goodreads pages show low average ratings, but till date, whichever book I’ve read of hers, I’ve fallen in love with. Impeccable author.

 A love triangle where the main character ends up with the person you did NOT want them to end up with.

[Spoilers of each book I mention ahead]

1. P. S. I Still Love You – Jenny Han 

I felt like Peter misbehaved with Lara Jean too much and in the end, I was kinda rooting for John (I hope I said the right name?) and Lara Jean to end up together. Peter was not a good guy and I was not satisfied with the explanations he came up with in the end to justify his behavior and all that drama with Genevieve.

2. Delirum Trilogy – Lauren Oliver

I felt that Julian and Lena’s relationship was more real and touching than Alex and Lena’s relationship. I totally loved Alex in the first book, but read Pandemonium ages after Delirium and maybe that’s why, Alex and Lena’s romance had completely faded from my mind, and when Julian entered the picture, I was totally on that ship. So yeah, the ambiguous ending was a bit disappointing.

Unfinished series : 

1. Throne of Glass – Sarah J Maas

I AM STILL ALL FOR CHAOL. Maas completely ruined my expectations of Rowan and Aelin having a beautiful friendship  when they started having feels for each other, and thus ruined chances of Aelin ever getting back together with Chaol. Also, Chaol’s growing relationship with (what’s her name?) – irritated me.

2. Red Queen – Victoria Aveyard

The series may have just begun, but I think we all know where it’s headed, at lease as concerned with Mare’s love interest. I’m not a fan of Cal, he’s lame and ineffectual and Maven was absolutely amazing. But Red Queen ended that image, and even throughout Glass Sword, I was hoping that he’d change, but that ending in Glass Sword makes it very clear that Maven is the antihero here.

A popular book genre you hardly reach for.1

1. Horror

I get scared very easily, and that is the sole reason I stay away from horror books and movies.

2. Paranormal

There was a time when I was fascinated with vampires and werewolves and fairies and used to devour those books, but now it has reduced considerably. I still do read paranormal, but it no longer fascinates me and I only pick up a series if it’s extrememly famous and well-rated. I’m thankfully growing out of that oh-sparkling-vampires-are-so-amazing! phase. Phew.

A popular author you can’t seem to get into.

1. David Levithan

I’ve read just one of his books, Every Day, and I was extremely disappointed. I could not appreciate the writing, nor connect to the characters and the story felt lame and hollow to me.

2. Cassandra Clare

I’ve already touched this point before, in one the earlier questions, and won’t elaborate. But I find her writing bad, her stories worse and the characters terrible. I was tempted to use worse words but will leave it at this.

A popular book trope you’re tired of seeing.

1. Damaged pasts

This trope is extremely over-used in almost all genres, barring a few. Authors now take it for granted that the more damaged the character’s past, the more we sympathize and love the character. I’m just so tired of seeing the same things come up again and again and again.

2. Perfect Girls 

Real world doesn’t have them, so please don’t write about them authors. It’s annoying when all of the girls are described ‘perfect’ and what’s more annoying is when they don’t even know they are perfect.

3. Cliche endings.

I just hate how in some books, however horrible the situations, however horrible the matter is, everything magically comes together in the end and the characters enjoy a happy ending.

A popular series you have no interest in reading.

1. Lady Midnight – Cassandra Clare

I know the talk of the town is Lady Midnight, a brand new series by CC. By this time, if you’ve read this entire post, you already know my feelings about CC, so I won’t elaborate.

2. The Giver – Louis Lowry

I don’t know why but the fact that it is children’s fantasy puts me off of this book. Plus, I absolutely hate the cover of the copy I own. I know I know. Judging a book by its cover is wrong but I just cannot get myself to pick up this book.

3. Jojo Moyes books

Me Before You was phenomenal and I do not want to shatter the image I have of Moyes by reading anything else by her. I know this is the worst possible logic anyone ever had, but till now, this logic has made me avoid her other books for the last 3 years, ever since I read MBY.

What movie/TV show adaptation do you prefer more than the book?

Hands down, The Time Traveller’s Wife was a fantastic movie of an otherwsie average book.

—————–

Have your own unpopular opinions? Share them below! 

Agree with any of my opinions? Let me know!

5 thoughts on “Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

  1. Hardcore Science Fiction: loved the expanse series.. Even though it got steadily more unbelievable as the books went on.. I lost a year of my Life reading them..the Author’s name is eluding me.. But look up Leviathan awakes

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Agreed with Cassie Clare. Also, that whole plagiarism thing is a pretty black mark for me.

    Highly unpopular opinion time: I feel like I am the 1% who doesn’t love Sarah J Mass books. I find them really amateur in writing, character depth and plot. My most visceral reaction halfway through he first book was “this reads like something off fictionpress”. And the sad part was, when I flipped to the back, the book told me it had, in fact, been posted on fictionpress. Not that I hadn’t read good things on FP. This was just one of those bad ones.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank God I have someone who agrees! :P And yes plagiarism bugs me…but even more than that, generalization does. Of course if an author straight up steals something from another book, it’s disgusting but what’s annoying is how so many books nowadays are so very ‘general’ and ‘typical’. Like, every book is based off the idea or story of some another book and that is irritating.
      Although I do no agree with your opinion on SJM books (I quite like them :P) but I totally understand why you might feel so :)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

