Book Reviews

Gracie’s Song – Michelle Schlicher (Book Review)

I’d like to thank the author for providing me with the ebook for review. Everything posted below is my own honest opinion. 


Capture

GoodReads Synopsis : 

“Everything can be undone.” That’s what someone tells Gracie Brannen, but she’s doubtful. After graduation, she walked away from everyone she knew with barely a word. Ten years later, she’s back. Even as familiar places and faces bring back old pain, Gracie finds hope in rebuilding old ties and forging new ones. Maybe everything can’t be undone, but perhaps everything can be overcome.

Pros

. Simple, realistic story : New adult stories usually have the tendency to become either too dramatic, or too cliche. Thankfully, this book steared clear of that typical NA melodrama and presented a simple, believable, likeable and realistic story. Reading the book gave the very feeling of a small town atmosphere and the book didn’t try to be more than what it was.

Character development : The character development was good, and more visible than what I was expecting. The characters grow throughout the story and all of the characters were good and likeable.

Flashbacks : I personally love books which provide flashbacks, or which go into different time periods. I loved the occasional flashbacks in the story, it gave more depth and emotion to the characters.

Wasn’t entirely about the romance : I’m glad that the author didn’t put all of her focus on just the romance, but gave equal importance to family and friendship. Loved that aspect of the book.

Cons

This is one of those books where there is nothing really wrong/bad, but you still can’t give it a 4 or a 5 rating : because it wasn’t phenomenal. I can’t think of anything bad in the book, I liked every aspect, but that is the point : I liked the book. It wasn’t extraordinary, it wasn’t phenomenal. It was a good, one-time read which I will recommend but most probably will not re-read.

However, there is one thing I would like to address :

The cover : It is horrible. I can’t make sense of what the cover is, or what it is trying to be. It’s largely unappealing to look at, it’s just bad. 

My Rating

3/5 stars

I enjoyed the book quite a lot.

2 thoughts on “Gracie’s Song – Michelle Schlicher (Book Review)

Leave a Reply

