Uncategorized

Plays

I haven’t read a lot of plays, but have read enough of them to know that it is definitely a type of literature I want to indulge more in. I want to explore and read more of this genre and basically, just diversify my reading.

Plays I’ve read :

The Merchant of Venice, William Shakespeare 

24128

Two years with this play, studied, understood and analysed each line said by each character, so much so that I still remember everything in detail. I’ve written multiple answers on this, I’ve cried over this because at times learning some of the quote was unbearable, I’ve read this late into the night before the exam when I had no other option, which doesn’t change the fact that it is an amazing play. The characters are its life and the brilliant story and the themes are great!

Julius Caesar, William Shakespeare

13006

We had this in 8th grade, and at that age, I couldn’t comprehend enough to fully appreciate this tragic, epic piece of work. I’ve read it a couple of times after 8th grade and yes, it’s an amazing play. Worth a read!

Arms and the Man, G.B. Shaw

383018

We have this play in our syllabus now, 11th and 12th grade and tbh, I hadn’t expected to like this even one bit. But to  my surprise, I absoultely adore this play. It’s humorous, the language is modern and easy and the themes are very effective, strong and amazing. Of course, studying a play in 10th grade and doing it in 12th grade has a huge difference, there’s much more analysis involved now. I get to voice my own opinions and write about everything in the play the way I see it, and instead of how most people end up disliking the books they read for school, I actually ended up loving this play. Will forever be one of my favorites.

Plays I want to read next :

. Romeo and Juliet, William Shakespeare

18135

. Hamlet, William Shakespeare

1420

I think the list is becoming pretty obvious and I’ll just list the other Shakespeare plays I really want to read soon : Macbeth, Antony and Cleopatra, A Midsummer Night’s Dream, Much Ado About Nothing, As You Like It and The Tempest.

. The Importance of Being Earnest, Oscar Wilde

92303

. Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf, Edward Albee

14940

3 thoughts on “Plays

  1. Nice list! One more Shakespeare you might want to add is A Midsummer Night’s Dream. I love that play. If you like kings and queens and magic and fairies, I would highly recommend that one. Oh, and The Taming of the Shrew is another good one. I love Macbeth and the witches. Good choice! There’s so many great lines from his plays.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

