Tags

The Classics Book Tag

I love reading classics. I don’t read exclusively classics, nor do I read them often, but every once in a while, I love picking one up because like I said, I love reading them. Reading classics is not just for the sake of reading ‘good literature’ but because reading them presents a certain richness, a different feel to the whole process of reading and let’s face it, it’s not for nothing that these works have survived over all those years.

So, yep, let’s get into this tag!

An over-hyped classic you really didn’t like

Okay. Let’s just get it out. Anne of Green Gables by L. M. Montgomery. I thought Anne was so annoying. Oh my God. Like, initially she was cute and her back story was sad and all but by the end she just kept talking so much and much and much that I had to, literally, *another secret is out*, DNF it. Yep, I didn’t complete the book.

8127

Your favorite time period to read about

Victorian era. Probably. Some of my favorite classics are set in the Victorian era so, yeah.

Your favorite fairy tale

Rapunzel. 

I’m obsessed with long, beautiful, shiny hair and Rapunzel probably isn’t te best story out there, but Rapunzel movies are the best.The hair.

A classic you’re most embarrassed about not having read

I’m not embarrassed about not having read any classic, or for that matter, any book at all. But, there’s one book which I wish I had already read, and that is A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens.

Five classics you want to get to soon

Mansfield Park – Jane Austen

45032

Hamlet – William Shakespeare

14201

A Tale of Two Cities – Charles Dickens

1953

The Catcher in the Rye – J.D. Salinger

5107

The Picture of Dorian Gray – Oscar Wilde

5297

Your favorite modern book/series based on a classic

I don’t know, honestly. God, this is becoming such a boring post.

Your favorite movie/tv show based on a classic

Pride and Prejudice (2005) version. And BBC Sherlock starring Benedict Cumberbatch.

Worst classic adaptation

No idea. Yep. Definitely extremely boring.

Favorite edition of classics you want to collect

I want to collect the Folger Shakespeare Library editions of his plays. They are beautiful and compact and well-presented and the illustrations are pretty good too. I even like the compactness of the Collins and the Penguin classics.

An underhyped book you would recommend

Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier

17899948

I don’t know why but I haven’t heard a lot of people talk about this book, which is surprising because it is absolutely amazing. It’s beautiful and mysterious and the story is haunting and impactful. Would totally recommend.


Enjoy classics? Join in the tag!

2 thoughts on “The Classics Book Tag

Leave a Reply

