Book Buying

Book Unhaul (#1)

IMG_20160420_175657.jpg

I never thought I’d ever have to say/do this, but I think I have finally convinced myself to get rid of a few books. I think the idea was always there, but I needed a little something to push me, and Chloe over at (Over)Analysing Literature convinced me with this post of hers that I needed to get rid of the books. Not really convinced, but she was the push I needed to just get it done with.

I’m getting rid of 4 books today, which is a small number, but not that small as compared to the total number of books I own. I never wanted to give away books, because I always thought that that would reduce the collection I have, but let’s face it, when you look at the books you have, you need to feel love and affection for them.

The books below are books I absolutely hated, and looking at them gives me pain. So, it’s finally time.

Matched – Ally Condie

I do like dystopian as a genre, and I’ve read a lot of it, but this book sucked. It was bland, lame and lacked impact. The story had potential but the author, in her attempts to sound poetic and write good verse, completely failed and turned it into a boring, dragging book. However, I don’t feel that bad about this, because I’ve seen this book the maximum number of times in all the unhauls I’ve watched on BookTube. Seems like everyone ends up disappointed with the book.

Blue Bloods – Maria De La Cruz

I bought this book in a whim – I was browsing a bookstore and I had heard of this book and it was super cheap and I really wanted to buy one more book – and I picked this up. Even though I’ve lost interest in all this vampire shit ages ago. Even though it is poorly rated on GR and I knew it at that time. Even though the cover is unappealing. Needless to say, I didn’t read the book. And I’m going to sell it to the same place I bought it from, so – I guess it doesn’t matter :P

The Devil Wears Prada – Lauren Weisberger

This book was annoying and irritating and stupid. It was just terrible, I think I read it around 3-4 years ago and I don’t want it anymore. Might as well give it away.

The Ocean at the End of the Lane – Neil Gaiman

This was the las book I read, and it sucked. It was horrible, and I’m definitely in the minority here because most people found this book ‘beautiful’. Whatever. I don’t care that much. I hated it, I DNF’d it and now Imma get rid of it.


 

3 thoughts on “Book Unhaul (#1)

  1. The only one of these books I’ve read is Matched, and I couldn’t agree with you more about it! I made it through the first book, and I didn’t love it, but it was mildly entertaining for a camping-trip read. Started reading the next one, and was bored out of my mind! They were just wandering through this wilderness forever, and it was less entertaining than actually wandering through a wilderness would be (which for me, isn’t that entertaining). Didn’t finish it.

    Glad you were able to get rid of some books, and glad my post helped a little with that. :)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah I’ve heard that the second book is worse than the first and they’re just wandering through a vast land or something..I couldn’t even finish the first one, so no point keeping it. And thanks to your post!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

