Wrap Ups

April 2016 Wrap Up

I know it’s 3 days too soon, but I’m pretty sure I’m not going to complete either of the two books I’m currently reading so I thought I might as well get this done. I had an overall bad reading month, because most of the books I read were just really, really disappointing. On the bright side, I read a book which made it to my favorite books list and also managed to review most books I read, which feels great.


1. All the Bright Places – Jennifer Niven

18460392

A tale of mental illness, grief, joy and love. I really liked the writing but I don’t like how themes like mental disease and depression were handled. There was too much emphasis on the romance, which I felt was unnecessary.

My Rating : 3/5 stars

My Review : Click here.

2. Gracie’s Song – Michelle Schlicher

288561222

A nice simple love story which was realistic, simple and just what it needed to be. I really liked the book but it wasn’t anything extraordinary or special : just a simple well-written love story.

My Rating : 3/5 stars

My Review : Click here.

3. The Glittering Court – Richelle Mead

272725061

A story about a runaway countess who joins The Glittering Court which is an organization turning low-society girls into high-bred girls. Well, this was well anticipated but majorly disappointing. There were so many loopholes in the story and it was just so typical. Didn’t enjoy this at all.

My Rating : 1.5/5 stars

My Review : Click here.

4. All the Light We Cannot See – Anthony Doerr

181439771

An intense WWII story following two characters stuck in their fates. The writing was wonderful, and everything – the writing, the characters, the story, the relationships – everything made an impact. Amazing book. Made it to my favorites.

My Rating : 4.75/5 stars

My Review : Click here.

5. The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman

15783514

Why did I read this book? *cries*

Having heard absolutely amazing things about this book, I picked it up with reasonable confidence and ended up having to DNF it at about 90%. I just couldn’t take it. It physically hurt me to read the book, it was that bad and the fantasy element was frankly, disgusting.

My Rating : 1/5 stars

My Review : Click here.

6. Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater

173785081

This was absolutely amazing – I have the final book to this series and can’t wait to start reading it. I don’t want to say much, and will talk about the entire series in detail in the Series Review I do. For those who don’t know, Blue Lily, Lily Blue is the third book in the The Raven Cycle quartet and it’s some amazing, amazing fantasy with beautiful writing and superb characters.

My Rating : 4/5 stars

My Review : (Series Review coming soon!)

7. Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell (Re-read)

157457531

Beautiful, quirky and sad, this love story is different from any other romance you’ve read.

My Rating : 5/5 stars

My Review : Click here.


Those are all the books I’ve read this month! Thanks for reading!

One thought on “April 2016 Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

