Discussion

A Bookish Secret and A Frank Discussion

Okay. I might as well just say it in the first line. I’m not that interested in reading Harry Potter and the Cursed Child (Part I and II). There. I said it.

Everyone has been going crazy over the news of the release of a new Harry Potter book and I’ve just been sitting here thinking, when am I going to start being excited about it?

I love Harry Potter. Period. I’ve loved it ever since I’ve read the books and watched the movies. It’s needless to say I’m a huge HP fan. It’s one of the best series I’ve read. It has some of the best characters I’ve read about. I’ve learned so much from this series.
Well then, why am I not excited about the new book?

For the simple reason that the series ended. It’s over. It’s done. I don’t want it to be reopened and retouched. I love how the series ended. I was well satisfied with every storyline in the end.

It’s not like I don’t trust J. K Rowling. I trust her to pen down excellent stuff whenever she gets down to it.

But that’s not what my point is. My point is, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows was it. It was the end. It couldn’t have ended a better way and I like what the entire series is as a whole, and I don’t want any kind of continuation/extra material to a story I consider perfect.
If I wanted more information on the series, or more content, I would probably go to Pottermore and read everything Rowling puts up there.

But this book. Nope. Not that interested. I mean, of course I’m excited that Rowling has a new book coming out but I feel like all the hype is unnecessary and I do not feel the same.
So, will I read the book? Eventually, yes.

Leave a Reply

