Recent Bookish Buys (#5)

//Excuse the terrible photography


 

IMG_20160429_220625_1461948116570    IMG_20160429_220715_1461948145425

I really hadn’t been meaning to buy this many books, since just like a month or so ago, I bought ten book at once at a bookstore using a gift voucher I had. After buying those, I thought that that would be it, you know. That I’d stop buying books for a while. But nope. Didn’t happen. I did a lot of impulsive shopping this month, and not that I regret any of it, but, I could have survived without buying THIS many books. It’s crazy, I had some extra money so I decided to splurge and now I’m officially broke.

But, on the bright side, I’m definitely not buying any books AT ALL in May, since I’m going on a trip and I don’t buy books on trips. So, that means, the next books I’ll buy will be in the beginning of June (birthday time!!) and of course, who doesn’t spend on birthdays? So, without further ado, let’s get it!

1. Where’d You Go, Bernadette? by Maria Semple

IMG_20160429_220513

I originally had this ebook on my kindle, but when I saw it for cheap in an used bookstore, I was like, why not? As far as I’m aware, this is an adult contemporary (?) with kind of a mystery element attached to it, because this girl called Bernadette disappears. Anyway, the cover of the book is spoiled but still, I’m glad I added it to my collection.

2. Selected Stories of Nathaniel Hawthorne, Jerome K. Jerome and Joseph Conrad

IMG_20160429_220429

This is literally the result of impulsive buying. I walked into Crossword a few weeks ago, just to browse the books, and I was just wishing that the store had a separate section for short stories (because I really don’t read enough of those) and voila! I just stumbled upon a random shelf filled with these short story collections. I haven’t read anything by the three authors mentioned, and tbh, was a bit intimidated of picking up Nathaniel Hawthorne’s book, but in the end I did decide to pick the three up.

3. Oryx and Crake by Margaret Atwood

IMG_20160429_220350

I have yet to read anything by this much-acclaimed author, even though I hauled The Blind Assassin by her quite a while ago. I do have an idea of what this book is about – it’s kind of dystopian with the main lead being the last remaining man on earth, and apparently he goes on a search of his best friend and the woman they both loved. The book sounds interesting but I’m a tad bit reluctant to pick up adult fantasy/dystopian.

4. Hamlet by William Shakespeare

IMG_20160429_212651

Shakespeare’s longest and probably best play, Hamlet is the story of Prince Hamlet of Denmark, who takes revenge of his father’s death on his uncle and mother. I’m currently reading it, and have just finished Act 1, and it is spectacular. Reading a Shakespeare play for pelasure, and not for school, is a different experience altogether. And this Folger Shakespeare Library edition is very handy and compact.

5. Selected Works of William Shakespeare

IMG_20160429_220459

I went a tad bit overboard and did a lot of Shakespeare shopping this month. Like, a lot. I wasn’t planning on buying this book, but when I went to unhaul some books in an used book store, I saw this book  and immediately grabbed it. Sadly, I had a rick waiting for me so I had to hurry, couldn’t even check the book, and quickly paid the money and climbed onto the rick. And in the rick, when I opened the book, I saw that it doesn’t have annotations. Damn. Talk about careless book buying. So I’m definitely not picking this up any time soon, or any time at all. But, it’s a great book to have in a collection, as it contains more than half of the Bard’s plays, including some which I really want to read : The Tempest, Measure for Measure, Macbeth, King Lear and A Midsummer Night’s Dream.

6. When We Collided by Emory Lord

IMG_20160429_212828

I had pre-ordered this book, and a major reason for that is the gorgeous cover. Also, I’ve heard a lot of amazing things about this book, so I’m pretty excited! Plus, it’s summer – the season of contemporaries – and this is a perfect example :)

7. Othello by William Shakespeare

IMG_20160429_212902

Like I said, I bought a lot of Shakespeare material this week. However, this edition is absolutely gorgeous and along with being pretty, it also has proper notes and it’s the kind of hardcover I like : without a dust jacket.

8. A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens

IMG_20160429_213016

This too is a similar hardcover like Othello, without a dust jacket and with a super pretty cover. I’ve been meaning to read this for a while now, so yep, I bought it!

9. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

IMG_20160429_212947

I think it’s finally time to just read the book and figure out whether I hate/love it. I’ve just heard SO many mixed reviews about this one…also, another pretty hardcover without the dust jacket :)


So that was it for my book haul! HAVE YOU READ ANY OF THESE BOOKS!?

2 thoughts on “Recent Bookish Buys (#5)

Leave a Reply

