Lists · Meme/Event

Top Ten Tuesday : Childhood Characters I’d Love to Revisit as an Adult

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme/event hosted by The Broke and the Bookish wherein, each week, a new topic is announced and bloggers participate in that and put up their own lists. Today’s topic is Ten Childhood Characters You’d Love To Revisit As Adults (i.e. a novella or something to see what they grew up to be) — you could always just pick YA characters you’ve read recently you wouldn’t mind revisiting in 10 years or so. Or you could pick 10 characters and guess what you think they’d be doing in 10 years or 20 years. OR you could go the other way and wish for coming of age stories for adult characters you love. 

I’m pretty much going to do a mixture of all of these because I can’t for the life of me, think up ten characters which would fit into a single of the above categories. So, here we go!

Childhood Characters I’d Love to Revisit as Adults

(I don’t remember much about these characters since I read them ages ago so please excuse me if I say something incorrect.)

1. Georgina (George) from Famous Five (by Enid Blyton)

072c0ea066d436791166a6d716a92c5d

She’s a fiesty, wild tomboy who taught me about courage and being assertive. Plus, she has the best dog in the whole world – Timmy!! She’s a really strong person and probably after Julian, she was my most loved character in the series. But yet, I’d like to know more about her as an adult. Does she get married? Can she cook? Has she accepted her name as Georgina or is she still a tomboy?

2. Hermoine Granger from Harry Potter (by J.K. Rowling)

hermione-granger-888x454

I know that by the end of the seventh book, all the characters are pretty much adults, but I’m trying to consider only the younger versions of the characters. Young Hermoine taught me a lot of things, but especially, how being a nerd is great and nothing to be ashamed of. She taught me that being yourself is more important and sticking to your values and principles is necessary. Friendship and intelligence – these are the two things abound in her and I admire her. I would love to know more about her life as an adult. What is her relationship like with Ron? Is she still always reading and reading? (she most probably is) What is her house like?

3. Matilda from Matilda (by Roald Dalh)

matilda

Funny, witty, naughty and intelligent – Matilda was a brilliant character to empathize with and fall in love with. She loved to read, and her entire story is hopeful and inspiring. I’d live to meet her as an adult. Does she still live with Miss Honey? Did she ever meet her parents after she went away to love with her teacher? Does she have her own kids!?

YA Characters I Wouldn’t Mind Visiting in the Future

1. Ronan Lynch from The Raven Cycle (by Maggie Stiefvater)

snake_small_by_xla_hainex-d9roie0

Probably the most intriguing and the most emotionally-investing character Stiefvater presents us with in her highly-acclaimed Raven Cycle series. He’s one of my favorite characters ever, and his entire journey, from book 1 to 4 is absoultely stunning. He’s just such a badass but at the same time precious and emotional and oh-god-all-the-feels. I’d love to meet him in the future, to find out whether he gets his happy ending with – (you know who I’m talking about if you’ve read the series). What about his relationship with his brothers? Does it improve with time. Probably one of the most well-written and well-defined characters in the history of YA.

2. Maya from Forbidden (by Tabitha Suzuma)

She may not be my favorite character, but the way things ended in the book, it just made me yearn for something more. I would love to see what would happen to her 10 years later. Does she find someone else? Did she ever get over what happened?

3. Eleanor from Eleanor and Park (by Rainbow Rowell)

248356ea4e45fb28134a0a1de735387a

Eleanor was an amazingly relatable, realistic character and sadly the end of the book left a lot of questions unanswered and a lot of aspects left to be assumed by the readers. But, I would love to know what would happen to her later on, in future. Does she get back with Park? Does she ever see her little siblings again? Does her father repent his sins? Does she ever forgive her mother?

Coming-of-age Stories of Adult Characters

1. Elizabeth Bennet from Pride and Prejudice (by Jane Austen)

4194a2e45d30d1d8d4f17896971f5aee

She’s one of my favorite characters and I would love to know how she was as a teenager. As an adult, she’s upfront, frank and ready to stand up for herself, quite unlike women during that time period. So, it intrigues me as to how she was as a moody, wild, rebellious teengaer.


That’s about it! I cannot think of anyone else to include in this list :P

 

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday : Childhood Characters I’d Love to Revisit as an Adult

  1. Matilda made my list (and a lot of people’s lists, which I guess should not surprise me since we’re all grown up Matildas), but yessssssssssss to Ronan! I just finished the Raven King, and I’m in some serious denial that there are no more sequels to look forward to.

    My TTT

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

