Awards

The Blogger Recognition Award

Thanks you Chloe for nominating me in this post for ‘The Blogger Recognition’ award. Please do check out her blog, it’s delightful, and has a lot of other fun random posts apart from her bookish stuff.

Rules :

  • Write a post to show your award
  • Give a brief story of how your blog started
  • Give two advice to new bloggers
  • Thank whoever nominated you and provide a link to their blog
  • Select 15 other blogs you want to give the award to

How the blog started :

I can already see that this post is going to be boring. Because here’s the truth : there’s no special or different or funny or unique story behind the start of my blog. It was a normal day. It was a normal second when I made the normal decision of starting up this blog. Nothing special. Nothing unique. I kind of regret that I’m not cool enough to have a different reason for my blog, but it’s just as normal as any other average person’s blog.

At the time I started this blog, I had already been running my life blog for a while. I had been contemplating blogging about books on the same page, and had even made a few bookish posts on that blog. However, I couldn’t freely open up about books, and the little things I did publish seemed to take away the purpose of the life blog. So, I thought I’d start up a whole new different page to blog about books. And, here it is!

Advice to new bloggers :

1. Forget about followers and likes

When I first started blogging, I did think quite a bit about how many followers I had, and how many people liked my posts. But, the only thing I’ve learnt since I started was that it is beyond your control, and it doesn’t matter. The sooner you let go of the counts, the more fun you’ll have with your blog. I’ve met a lot of people who’ve been blogging for less than half the time as me and yet have more than double my followers; and on the other hand, I’ve met people who have been blogging longer than me and don’t have that many followers. So, honestly, it doesn’t matter. I think what really matters is that you get consistent followers, who will read your posts regularly, instead of clicking follow in a whim and never coming back to your site.

2. Post regularly

Since the advice is for new bloggers, I need to mention this. Posting regularly is mandatory for all bloggers, not just new. But since you’re new, you might not realize the importance of posting regularly. Well, in simple words, posting regularly draws in more viewers for your content. If you post once in a week, or once in ten days, that just reduces chances of your content being viewed and appreciated regularly, but if you do post daily or even once in two-three days, that just keeps viewers constant.

Nominations :

The Reading Dove

Emma the Book Lover

A Heart of Words

One Way or An Author

Bookevin

Confessions of a Bibliophile

IN CASE OF BOOKISHNESS…

Rant and Rave About Books

Rattle the Stars

Heartscent Reads


Thank you again Chloe for nominating me!

5 thoughts on “The Blogger Recognition Award

  1. Thanks for the tag! I just posted this one a few days ago, so I’m going to save it for a little bit, but I will definitely post it within the month. Great advice! I’m right there with you. I don’t worry about follows or likes either. I just try to write quality content and hope someone will want to read it. And I write what I want to read. I think that’s important, too. I agree 100% with posting regularly. I try to post once a day and sometimes twice. I did take one weekend off, but I hit the ground running since then. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Such good advice! I used to obsessively check how many likes my posts had, but somewhere along the line it stopped mattering. That’s also when I started enjoying myself a lot more. And the posting regularly is important, too. Obviously not everyone can post every day, but when people go a long time without posting, I forget about their blog, even if it was a really, really great blog.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

