Book Reviews · Uncategorized

Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close – Jonathan Safran Foer (Book Review)

45881

Title : Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close 

Author : Jonathan Safran Foer

Standalone

Genre : Historical Fiction


Summary

Goodreads summary

Nine-year-old Oskar Schell is an inventor, amateur entomologist, Francophile, letter writer, pacifist, natural historian, percussionist, romantic, Great Explorer, jeweller, detective, vegan, and collector of butterflies. When his father is killed in the September 11th attacks on the World Trade Centre, Oskar sets out to solve the mystery of a key he discovers in his father’s closet. It is a search which leads him into the lives of strangers, through the five boroughs of New York, into history, to the bombings of Dresden and Hiroshima, and on an inward journey which brings him ever closer to some kind of peace.


Pros

1. Very emotional themes and storyIf you know me, you probably know that I love touching, emotional stories which tug at the strings of my heart and make me feel. Feel anything, but just feel. I love the thrill and rush of a fast-paced crazy fantasy story, but emotional stories are always what I prefer. Hands down. In this aspect, Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close wins. Both parallel stories are set in war settings, and the themes of mourning, grief, loss and family relationships are very well explored and portrayed. I loved both the parallel stories, both equally emotional and deep in their own contexts.

2. Beautiful portrayal of a childI love it when books portray an age group correctly and realistically, and I loved how this book portrayed a child, his mind and his feelings, and how he deals with depression and grief. It was deeply moving, as well as thought-provoking. Oskar Schell was a wonderful character.


Cons

1. A tad bit monotonousI couldn’t really appreciate and become attached to the writing, and I feel that it was the writing which made the book a tad bit monotonous. This is not the kind of book you can fly through, or read obsessively or continuosly, this is to be taken in in bits and pieces and devoured slowly. And I feel that the only reason why it cannot be read all at once is because the writing is tedious, and isn’t enough engrossing.

2. Lack-lustre charactersThe characters, apart from Oskar himself, do not really shine and don’t have anything extraordinary about them. These are easily forgettable characters and in their defense, the best thing I can say about them is that they are realistic enough.


Recommend to?

Adults who like historical fiction and emotional stories.


A good ‘book’or a good ‘read’?

A touching book. A good read.


My Rating

3.75/5 stars

6 thoughts on “Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close – Jonathan Safran Foer (Book Review)

  1. I’ve owned this book for almost a year and still haven’t read it! Agh. I have heard many great things about it, and it seems like you do like it overall.
    It’s a shame about the tedious style of writing :/ Sounds like a big turn-off.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, overall I did like it, it was a good book but I was expecting it to be fantastic, which I didn’t get.
      As for the writing, it is too much of a subjective aspect to label under a particular category. For me, it was tedious because when reading emotional books, I tend to like writing which is lyrical or poetic or metaphorical. So, yeah.
      But do give it a try!

      Like

      1. I am interested in the movie as well, so I will have to read the book first.
        I did expect it to be fantastic as well, so I was a little surprised by some of your criticisms. But as you said they are subjective and I may end up loving the story and writing.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

