Discussion

Since You’ve Been Gone : An Attack on Introverts? Nah, I don’t think so! [Discussion]

181896062

So I recently read somewhere (I partly do not remember the site identity, and partly don’t want to disclose where I read it) that Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson basically preaches that introverts can’t have fun unless they go outside and become active.

Now, let me first clarify where I stand about the novel. I read Since You’ve Been Gone last year, and had that time already been familiar with the author’s works. I fell in love with the novel and it became one of my favorite books. You can even find my review here. However, I won’t let this fact affect the issue in hand, because I just found a new way to analyze this book.

In a gist, the novel is about an introvert whose best (and only) friend disappears, and leaves behind a list of fun, crazy, typically outgoing things to do. As the girl sets forth to do these things, she makes new friends and finds happiness in doing the various things, and basically – finds herself.

Now what I read in a particular post was that how the book sent forth the message that an introvert cannot be happy alone until she goes outside and does outgoing, extrovert things. I do not remember the exact words though it was pretty much along these lines.

Well, when I first read it, it made me think : what if it’s right? The main lead is an introvert, she has one friend, she does go out and make new friends, and she does find happiness doing all those fun things.

And later, upon thinking, I realized that this line of reasoning is wrong. Because, I fail to see how the book preaches about an introvert changing into an outgoing person, instead of an introvert discovering that she likes other things better.

That is the whole point of the book. Self-discovery. The main lead discovering that there are other fun things out there, instead of changing herself to become something else. Maybe it’s just my perception of the book, and I totally agree that different people can have different perceptions. It’s just that for me, I feel that the book was about discovering something new instead of changing to something new. A fine line of difference, but it exists.

And I especially reacted to this because I myself am an introvert but that does not mean I never enjoy fun things once in a while. And just because I enjoy fun things sometimes, does not change me and make me an extrovert all of a sudden.


So that was it. A tiny little piece of discussion which suddenly hit my mind.

P.S. I just love this thing where we as blog readers read something online and that influenes us to make a discussion post ourselves :P It’s a fun way to form and present our opinions.


Thanks for reading!

8 thoughts on “Since You’ve Been Gone : An Attack on Introverts? Nah, I don’t think so! [Discussion]

  1. Hmm, this made me think about the book a little deeper. I have read this book last year, and I agree with you. I think this book is about discovering new things, I am also an introvert and I enjoy my alone time but I also enjoy doing crazy things sometimes. Sloane wasn’t trying to change Emily, she just wanted her to experience diferent things. Great post! 😄

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I definitely agree with you! This book is all about discovering new things, not changing yourself from an introvert to an extrovert. Sloane left Emily a list to tell her that there are many things in this world. She wouldn’t want Emily to change to an extrovert. Also you’re right! Just because I’m an introvert doesn’t mean I only like staying at home. I do like travelling, in fact :) Anyway, great post! <3

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I agree with you. As an Introvert myself it doesn’t mean that I can’t go out and have fun or that I don’t want to just that’s its hard to burst out of my bubble and I felt it was the same with Emily’s character.
    She wasn’t wrong when she just wanted to do her own thing and she didn’t “need” to make friends to have a life but doing these things helped her grow and find herself, no one was there to carry her and she was able to find what she enjoyed doing and how she wanted to live her life. I took a lot away from this book but this thought never even crossed my mind before seeing your post. In my mind Emily is still an introvert but she’s happy and more comfortable in her skin now which is wonderful :)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes that is exactly what I felt while reading the book :) That Emily is still her old self but she has just found new ways of happiness and that to me, isn’t change at all. It’s just growth and discovery.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

