Book Reviews

The Unexpected Everything – Morgan Matson (Book Review)

//I’ve used unnecessary gifs in this review; please excuse that :P

17838528

Title : The Unexpected Everything

Author : Morgan Matson

Standalone

Genre : YA Contemporary

Published : 3rd May, 2016


Summary

Goodreads summary

Andie had it all planned out.

When you are a politician’s daughter who’s pretty much raised yourself, you learn everything can be planned or spun, or both. Especially your future.

Important internship? Check.

Amazing friends? Check.

Guys? Check (as long as we’re talking no more than three weeks).

But that was before the scandal. Before having to be in the same house with her dad. Before walking an insane number of dogs. That was before Clark and those few months that might change her whole life.

Because here’s the thing—if everything’s planned out, you can never find the unexpected.

And where’s the fun in that?

General Thoughts

I really wanted to love this book. I’m a huge Morgan Matson fan and I’ve loved all of her books. The most I can say about this book is that I enjoyed it, as in I felt it was at same par as any other contemporary. But when it’s a Morgan Matson book, I expect more. I expect that special, different book which is going to make me feel and think and just plain enjoy myself. Sadly, this book lacked in a lot of things I was highly expecting but I can definitely agree that I enjoyed it. At least.

Pros

1. The friendshipI loved how the book was mainly about friendship, and centered around a lovely group of friends. However, I feel that friendship, as a trope, is becoming overusedLike, once upon a time (at least when I hadn’t read a lot of books), I had felt that there weren’t enough books dealing with friendship, whereas now I feel that I’ve read too many authors trying to pull off writing the entire book focused only on friendship. It’s just getting overused now and I wonder how long Morgan Matson can keep writing the same trope and make people fall for her books.

But anyway, getting back to topic, I feel that this book definitely pulled off the friendship trope. The bunch of friends in this book is absolutely amazing, and the rapport they had with each other was very heart-warming. Their constant banter became almost familiar by the end of the book and it was the friend group, I believe, which made the book better than just a ‘meh contemporary’.

2. Cute romance; no big ‘love affair’ One of my biggest pet peeves in YA books (especially contemporary) is when characters are shown to have a huge romantic, life-changing affair, and I’m sitting there just like : 200_s

I am a young adult (I’m almost seventeen) and I know this doesn’t exist. Contemporary authors should get that teenagers can’t find their soul mate at sixteen and have a serious, deep, lifelong relationship cause that is stupid.

So I loved how this book didn’t pay much attention to the romance. giphy

It was simple, cute relationship, totally realistic because that is how things are at this age, and I would’ve hated if the relationship had been a ‘big thing’. Like, that’s unrealistic. The author focuses on other things, other themes, and the romance is just what it should be.

3. Dogs!!I love dogs. Hehe. So of course there was an added bonus in the book because this book had a wide variety of SO many different types of dogs. And reading about them was so cute and Bertie was just A+

4. WritingMorgan Matson’s writing is so summery and contemporary-ish that you fall in love with it. You can breeze through it and it just makes the book so much fun.

Cons

1. Relationship with dad[Mild spoilers; but unless you’re very particular of spoilers and such, go ahead!] So, one of the main themes of this book is Andie’s relationship with her dad. At the start, it’s strained, difficult relationship to the point where they live in the same house, but don’t know anything about each other. However, in the middle of the book, they have this huge argument where Andie confronts her father and tells him about how he never was a father to her, and then,

tumblr_m1muzkx9ao1qbkxad

everything changes!!! They suddenly become super happy and normal and make plans to spend more time and just everything’s back on track! Which is absurd because usually these things take time and one argument or conversation or scene cannot just change things and make everything normal. So I really disliked how rushed this was, like, I was expecting that their relationship would be healed throughout the book and in the end they’d be a happy family; I didn’t expect it to happen just all together at once. After that one argument, they make plans and slowly start hanging out with each other but somehow, the essence was lost in the book and the whole transformation didn’t sit well with me.

2. PredictableThere were three basic plot twists in the book and two out the three were predictable (at least to me). [SPOILERS] The whole Bri and Wyatt thing was so predictable, like I don’t if the author intentionally made it predictable or what but it was super obvious. I knew from perhaps the middle of the book what was about to happen and then the ending of the scavenger hunt made all my doubts clear. Also, it was pretty much obvious that to bring in a glitch in Andie’s relationship, the author would play the I’m-so-scared-of-commitment card because Andie is shown as a character who’s only interested in fun and nothing serious in her relationships, so she had to go screw things up with Clark. So that too, never took me by surprise. Only that election thing? That was the only surprising thing in the book but that wasn’t even given that much attention. It was basically kind of a filler scene.

3. Rushed endingThe ending was just a hubbub of too many things happening at once, and none of it really executed in a good way. All the main conflicts are solved and it was just pretty much

eye-rollno-gifnostupidwhatevermeh

Also, I wasn’t really eemotionally invested into anything in this book, which was another letdown. It lacked emotion, and by the end, I didn’t really care what happened. In fact, I think I liked the side characters even more than the main ones.

4. Unnecessary explanation of unimportant thingsI’ve seen this is Morgan’s writing before too : she just overexplains unimportant things. Like, for example [this is not from the book, but very much similar to a lot of things in her books] suppose her main characters likes to have vanilla ice-cream. Okay. Great. Even I love vanilla ice-cream. It’s my favorite. But do I need to know the entire history of why my main character started loving vanilla icecream? No. 

This was just an example of the types and extent of the unimportant things she gives too much explanation about. Like, there are some random basic facts of characters which I don’t need to know the history about, and yet Morgan explains them and sometimes it just gets on my nerve.

Recommend to?

Contemporary readers looking for a light, fun read.

A ‘good book’ or a ‘good read’?

An enjoyable read. An okay book.

My Rating

3/5 stars


Have you read this book? Share your thoughts below!

9 thoughts on “The Unexpected Everything – Morgan Matson (Book Review)

  1. I agree with you on the “plot twist” thing. Bri and Wyatt were obvious from the scavenger hunt thing and just how she spoke about Wyatt to the gang. Andie’s commitment issues were a bit vague? She never talked about why she had them. Something that I expected to come up but didn’t was Topher. He did next to nothing for the story. I hated how quickly Andie and her dad fixed everything but I did not see his speech at the end coming! I loved the friendship that the group had and their text conversations were so cute haha.
    Loved your review!

    Like

    1. Yes Topher was kinda ‘just there’ and didn’t really add much to the story. And Andie’s commitment issues were indeed vague and unreasonable. Like, someone who’s dealt with heartbreak before – yes it is understood that he/she might have commitment issues. But Andie’s matter was unreasonable and unexplained.
      Even I loved the text messages and Toby and her emojis!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I think part of her commitment issues were because after her mother died, her father and her didn’t have the best relationship so that led her to believe all men are pigs or something but that still doesn’t make any sense. xD I’m just trying to reason it out in my head. :P

        Liked by 1 person

          1. I didn’t like her as much as Matson’s other protagonists but since the whole story was from her point of view, I tried to understand what she was coming from. I liked Palmer a lot. She seemed like the most sensible one of the four. But above all, Bertie was definitely my favourite character! :P

            Like

            1. Yes Palmer definitely was the most sensible and I thought Tom was hilarious! I kinda liked Wyatt but he didn’t have much of an impact. Toby I thought was melodramatic and Bri was okay I guess.
              I’m pretty much writing a second part to the review in the comments 😂

              Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

