Lists

Popular 2016 releases I haven’t read….and probably will not ever.

1. Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare

25494343

Okay guys I’ve voiced my dislike and disinterest in Cassandra Clare a lot of times in my blog and I know it probably infuriates a lot of people so I’m just going to skip this first book. [Also, I find it highly annoying how she keeps writing books which are based in the same world and setting. I mean, maybe she could come up with something else? Instead of the same old Shadowhunters all the freaking time!!]

2. Passenger by Alexandra Bracken

20983362

Time travel doesn’t really interest me that much (yeah I’m weird like that) and if I absolutely had to read a time travel book, I definitely wouldn’t pick up a YA series. Plus, honestly, this book doesn’t sound (plot-wise) that interesting.

3. Stars Above by Marissa Meyer

25689074

This is the short story/novella collection of The Lunar Chronicles and marks an end to this series. Now, I read Cress (book #3 in the series) about two years ago and then last year when Winter released, I had just forgotten the whole series and never picked it up.
Good news is I just ordered Cinder and am going to reread the entire series and just get it done with because I do remember absolutely loving the books, when I read it. However, I’m not the hugest fan of novellas so I still don’t know whether I’ll ever pick this up. We’ll see.

4. The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan

26252859

Another author I’ve pretty much voiced my opinions about. I haven’t liked anything I’ve read by Rick Riordan and there’s absolutely no way I’m picking up this book.

5. Truthwitch by Susan Dennard

21414439

Even though I like reading books which can portray true, realistic friendship, the entire concept of the book was just too uninteresting. I’m not that keen on reading about witches who have different kinds of powers and I feel like this book would have nothing special to offer.

6. Summer Days and Summer Nights (edited by Stephanie Perkins)

25063781

I’m just kinda hesitant to pick up summer-y contemporary short stories written by (quite a few) fantasy authors. And somehow the book doesn’t sound or look appealing at all and personally, I’m not interested in reading any short story by any of the authors who are part of the book.

7. The Crown by Kiera Cass

26074181

I never picked up the fourth book in The Selection series (after losing interest and hearing really bad reviews) and because of that, I can’t pick up this book either. Normally, I would strive to finish off a series but it’s been a long time since I read the first three books and I possibly can’t go back into that world.

8. Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton

24934065

Am I the only one thinks the cover isn’t as pretty as people say it it? Also, the plot is extremely generic and uninteresting and I’ve just not felt any motivation or want to pick up this book.

9. The Crown’s Game by Evelyn Skye

26156203

I’ve heard a lot of bad reviews about this book, and the whole concept of a duel between two people who have magical powers just doesn’t excite or interest me enough. So, a nope.


So! That was my list of most of the mainstream 2016 book releases I have not read. If you think I should read something particular (please no Lady Midnight or The Hidden Oracle) then please comment below!

 

4 thoughts on “Popular 2016 releases I haven’t read….and probably will not ever.

  1. I probably won’t read most of these books,either. I don’t read much YA anymore because they seem to be so generic. And I wish there were more standalones. I don’t have time to invest in twenty new series!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ikr? YA books have become way too generic and I feel that there are very few good ones. And even I’m on the lookout for more standalones because investing in a series unless it is REALLY good seems like a waste of time. However, it seems like the authors now can’t write anything other than series which is just sad.

      Like

Leave a Reply

