Lists · Meme/Event

Top Ten Tuesday : Books to Read on the Beach

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme/event hosted by The Broke and the Bookish wherein, each week, a new topic is announced and bloggers participate in that and put up their own lists. Today’s topic is Beach Reads Week — top ten great beach reads, ten books I plan to read on the beach, ten beach reads for those who don’t like typical *beach


When it comes to a ‘beach read’ – I look out for light, easy contemporaries. Something which I can probably finish in one sitting, something which won’t take a lot of concentration or demand a lot of attention, just something which I can read through quickly while enjoying the cool breeze of the beach.

1. The Selection series by Kiera Cass

ctfue68usaas9wp

Albeit, I’ve read only the first three books in this series, these books are some of the lightest, fluffiest, fastest dystopian reads out there, and you also end up having fun with them! They’re not suitable if you want something serious or thoughful or logical – but yet they are a good way to pass the time when you just want to read something light and chill out on the beach.

2. Colleen Hoover books

tumblr_static_tumblr_static_2pffa9617vy8soocwowo00w88_640

HOW CAN I NOT TAKE THE QUEEN’S  NAME?!?! If you’re looking for contemporaries with drama and romance and FEELS AND FEELS AND FEELS, you need to pick up her books!! The best thing about her books is that you can easily read them in one sitting – they’re just so short and engrossing and dramatic. Perfect for a day at the beach!

3. Morgan Matson books

Her books are heavier and more serious – and they are absolutely brilliant. Since You’ve Been Gone, Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour, Second Chance Summer, The Unexpected Everything – these are all books with great stories and Matson’s writing and the romance and the themes of the books are amazing.

4. Kasie West books

recently2bupdated1

She’s my go-to author when I’m in need of light, kinda-stupid, cute contemporaries filled with FLUFF. Her books may not be that logical or sensible – but she can spin a cute story, along with keeping it short and enjoyable. Perfect beach reads!

5. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

412xh9uvpbl-_sy344_bo1204203200_

This book is one of my favorite YA contemporaries – and it’s absolutely amazing. Themes such as college life, friendship, sisterhood, romance, and breaking out of your shell are so briliantly explored in this book. Definitely an amazing beach read!

6. Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

195478561

This book is the cutest lgbtq+ book I’ve read, and the way this book is written is fantastic. This book too is a short one – can easily be read in a matter of hours. It’s got cute romance, and additonally, touches your heart too. Definitely pick this one up!


So that was my beach reads list!

Have you read any of these books?

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday : Books to Read on the Beach

  1. Great list :D I just finished reading The Crown…it was perfection IMHO. I have a confession….I’ve never read Colleen Hoover. I have a few of her books, I just haven’t started them. Same with Rainbow Rowell. One of these days….
    My TTT

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m actually in the middle of “Fangirl” right now! So far enjoying. I haven’t begun “The Selection” series, mostly because I wasn’t interested in the storyline at first, but I tend to become MUCH more interested in reading a series once the series is fully completed. Go figure.

    My TTT

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

