Wrap Ups

May 2016 Wrap Up

SO…May was a great reading month!! I read a lot of books I had been anticipating, a lot of really good books (but the month also had its fair share of bad books) and overall, I really enjoyed all the reading I did this month! I participated in the Bout of Books 16 Readathon, which pushed me to read about 4 books in a week (which is crazy for me but I did it!!) So let’s get to the book :)

1. Mercer Girls by Libbie Hawker

27852572

This was an eARC I received from NetGalley. A historical fcition drama set in the 1800’s, the story is about a group of girls who take part in a voyage to Seattle from their war-struck hometown Lowell, in order to find husbands and be respectable women of the society there. Sadly, the book didn’t work for me and I had to DNF it.

My Rating : 0.5/5 stars

My Review : click here. (Spoiler free)

2. The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater

17378527

Fourth and final installment to the fantastic The Raven Cycle, this book ended the series in a breathtaking way. Absolutely magical writing, with spot-on characterization and extremely intriguing plot.

My Rating : 4.5/5 stars

Series Review : click here. (Spoiler free)

3. The Rose and the Dagger by Renee Ahdieh

23308084

Sequel and finale to The Wrath and the Dawn duology, this book takes the story of TWATD one step ahead and mingles magic and war with it. Not as good as the first book, but you should definitely try out this amazing retelling of the Arabian Nights. 

My Rating : 3.75/5 stars

Duology Review : click here. (Spoiler free)

4. Hamlet by William Shakespeare

1420

Reading this masterpiece was a new, amazing, experience. (No review written because I do not review classics.)

My Rating : 4/5 stars

5. I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

20820994

A mesmerizing, beautiful, relatable story dealing with the relationship between a pair of siblings, their broken lives, and how they make their way back to each other.

My Rating : 4.75/5 stars

My Review : Click here. (Spoiler free)

6. Too Late by Colleen Hoover

29610595

CoHo really disappoints with this love story dealing with an abusive relationship and finding new love elsewhere. Nothing really stood out in the book, it was overall a really bland, disappointing book.

My Rating : 0.75/5 stars

My Review : Click here. (Spoiler free)

7. Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz

12000020

A very disappointing, unimpressive read about two boys finding the secrets of the universe in each other. Metaphorically, of course. Written in a very dull, bland and dry fashion, this book completely spoiled any chances of doing justice to the wonderful themes of homosexuality and racism it picked up.

My Rating : 2/5 stars

My Review : Click here. (Spoiler free)

8. Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer

4588

An extremely touching story about a young boy dealing with grief, loss and renewing his familial relationships.

My Rating : 3.75/5 stars

My Review : Click here. (Spoiler free)

9. The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi

252036752

Another over-hyped mainstream fantasy novel which ended up majorly disappointing me.

My Rating : 1/5 stars

My Review : Click here. (Spoiler free)

10. A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

179273952

Sarah J Maas’ exemplary, amazing, breathtaking sequel to A Court of Thorns and Roses was a masterpiece of a book. Amazing fairytale retelling, and a million times better than the first book.

My Rating : 4.5/5 stars

My Review : Click here. (Spoiler free)

11. If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo

261569871

An important piece of fiction, bringing forth significant details about the life and experience of trans girl Amanda. However, the book lacked in all other departments such as storytelling, writing, characters and plot. So all the stars are for the importance of the theme only.

My Rating : 3/5 stars

No Review written.

12. The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

17838528

This book was pretty much proof that even the best of authors can sometimes go wrong. Contemporary-queen Morgan Matson disappoints in this story of a Congressman’s daughter whose summer plans get ruined, and she has to take up the job of a dog-walker. In the process, she finds love and a lot of friendship drama. I liked this book but  it came nowhere near my expectations.

My Rating : 3/5 stars

My Review : Click here. (Spoiler free)


So those were all the books I read in May!

Have you read any of these?

And which awesome books did you read this month?

5 thoughts on “May 2016 Wrap Up

    1. Yes exactly. Plot-wise it was nothing special. In fact, had this book been a straight teenage love story, I would’ve DNF’d it. Only because of theme did I continue.

      Like

Leave a Reply

