Meme/Event

Top Ten Tuesday : Reasons I Love Game of Thrones (Book Series + TV Show)

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme/event hosted by The Broke and the Bookish wherein, each week, a new topic is announced and bloggers participate in that and put up their own lists. Today’s topic is “Ten Reasons I Love Xcould be a certain book, character, author, your indie bookstore, a fandom, a tv show, reading, a hobby, a genre. Honestly anything you want to gush about.”

c9lzmv4d3mgzpnyntz7s

I figured out that I haven’t talked much about Game of Thrones on my blog, and this just might be the right chance to do so! So, yeah, I’m going to talk about GAME OF THRONES!!! Biggest, biggest, BIGGEST THING TRENDING RIGHT NOW.

P.S. There might be mild spoilers in this post.

P.P.S. As for the series, I’ve read all the books, watched till halfway of season 2, and am currently watching season 6. [A lot found that surprising, but I’m not having any problem really.]


So, in a gist (yeah right GOT is SO easy to summarise </sarcasm>), Game of Thrones or more precisely, A Song of Ice and Fire is all about various lords and Houses fighting for The Iron Throne. Seems simple and basic enough, but it’s enthralling, exciting, thrilling, crazy and freaking vicious. Trust me on this, once you join the bandwagon, you won’t want to leave!

SO let’s get to the my favorite things about this series!

I) The Action

45674354-cached

ASOIAF oozes with action. It’s filled with action scenes, and it is based on war, which means there has to be action. Whereas sometimes it does get a tad bit gruesome for me, and some scenes are pretty nerve-wrecking, but overall, the books and the movies both spend a lot of time doing things, and everytning just goes on quick. The franchise is fast-paced and packed with lots of action and stuff just seems to go on all the time.

II) The Dragons

f907a2f0-9d93-0131-0f29-5e2820d7023d

I love me some dragons!!! I love reading stories with dragons. Period. They’re cool and fiery and monstorus and magical and freaking awesome! But then, I’ve seen that as much as I love dragons, I find it difficult to love a book with dragons unless it fits in. Like, I wouldn’t like a book where a dragon or two is thrown in just for the sake of it. Thankfully, ASOIAF is a big thing, and something as huge as the role of the dragons completely fits in with the plot of the story. Well, technically, the dragons haven’t really done anything yet…and it all just is building up to become a huge thing. We’ll see.

III) Multiple Storylines

game-of-thrones-full

Though initially a bit confusing (especially if you read the books) and distracting, the multiple characters and storylines is the life of this series. It took me a lot of pain to start remembering the main characters and by the second book, when I was finally on track with them, multiple new characters were introduced and half of the old ones were dead and it was all just a mess in my head. However, over the entire journey of the show, the way this series handles its characters is a beauty. Every story intertwines, and how it relates to others is mindlessly mindblowing. Also, if you ever get tired of one character, there are tons of others to fall back on, and there is always something or someone new to talk about.

IV) The Deaths

maxresdefault

However crazy and senseless and sad they may be, the deaths keep me on the edge of my seat. Unless a death is completely unresonable or senseless, I don’t really mind characters (at least, the non-favorite ones:p) dying off. As long as it fits in the story, as long as it adds excitement and shock, I’m in. [I should probably clear that I don’t enjoy the brutality, I just love the shock and the suddenness of the deaths.]

V) The Setting

riverlands-twins_close

Game of Thrones is set in a lot of places. Be it The North, The Riverlands, Mereen, or any other setting – watching it all on the show is beautiful and breathtaking. The real-life locations (most of them) are so beautiful, and attractive, and the entire show is shot in just amazing locations.

VI) The Unpredictability

c71f96421

This series is based on unpredictability. I don’t think it would’ve received half as much as the love it gets had it been any less unpredictable, shocking. This sets the show and the books apart – because however much people say that half the stuff is crazy, it still sells because we LOVE CRAZY and we love the rush and the suddennes. And I’m not just talking about the deaths – I’m talking about even tiny aspects with come as a surprise.

VII) The Characters

game-of-thrones-full

In spite of the show being set in a fantasy world, I admire how real the characters are. Most of the emotions they portray are emotions we portray too and I love the different quirks and traits each individual character has. Be it a mother’s love, be it revenge for losing someone close, be it a husband’s love for his wife, or be it the devotion to a leader – every emotion is nailed. And the character traits – like Tyrion’s wit and Dany’s inner strength or Jon’s dutifulness or Ned’s honor – every character is unique in his/her own way. No character is big or small. Everyone, regardless of the number of chapters or their duration in an episode – have their own aura and their own presence is felt in the show.

VIII) The History

maxresdefault1

With each separate house, comes its own storyline and history. Every story is uniqe and I just love knowing more and more about the past of these Houses. It’s all very intriguing and interesting.


So that was it for my Top Ten today!

Do you watch/read ASOIAF? What are your thoughts on this series?

18 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday : Reasons I Love Game of Thrones (Book Series + TV Show)

  1. Oh I completely agree that the craziness unpredictability in the action and deaths is perfect. I actually found it easier to watch the series before I started the books because I was a little less confused by the characters than if I was going in blind. Great List!

    Like

  2. I haven’t read the books yet (well, to be exact, I have read the first 5 pages of book 1) but I do plan on reading them and I love the series. You have definitely summed up why it is so great, especially the dragons and all the different houses. Wonderful list!

    Like

  3. You hit every key reason why I love Game of Thrones. The characters and the world are developed so well it feels like I actually live there when I’m reading the books. And I love the show. The actors were cast so well. The scenery and sets they use for the show are perfect. I wasn’t surprised to find out they had the highest budget per episode on TV.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Love this post!!!!

    I love the series, so glad that my boyfriend made me watch it. I haven’t missed an episode in 3 years and completely caught up in like 1 week when I first go into it.

    The best show ever!

    Now…the books…they are enjoyable but are difficult reads. People tend to look at me strange when I say that. What I mean by that is that there is so much information in there that it takes a while to read it. I have managed to read the first two books. However, I haven’t attempted to conquer the remaining books. The bf has been reading the last one for nearly 2 years LOL. Great books, just long and so much info there.

    Again. Love. This. Post.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! And yes, the books are difficult. I know fantasy buffs would probably giggle at that but for me, reading the books was a task. I won’t say I didn’t enjoy them; of course I loved them, but they were a difficult thing to read and understand and comprehend and remember. Totally with you there. :)

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh yes, great pick for this weeks prompt! Love that this prompt means nearly all our posts are about something different. Love your topic, as I am a huge GOT fan. I watch the TV show but have only read the first book in the series. I know I should continue but I am put off by the size and the fact that George R.R. Martin takes years to write a book. I am not patient at all haha. You can check my TTT post out here.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Honestly one of my favorite things about GoT is how a character’s survival is NOT guaranteed – which is totally realistic for a world as brutal as that of the ASOIAF series! You’re right about it keeping me on the edge of my seat. (Which is why I hold off on professing love for certain characters. As soon as I do, they die!!!!)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

