#SaveTheClassics

Hi everyone! I saw this post on theorangutanlibrarian roughly outlining classics, their essence and their importance. I wasn’t aware of the #SaveTheClassics project, but the moment I read the post, I wanted to join in!

I love reading classics! I’m not an avid classic reader, nor do I review classical books (hence I never mention much of classics in my posts) but in reality, I keep picking up something classical to read most of the time. And the reason? I enjoy them. What I really love about classics is how my perception changes every time I re-read a favorite. It’s like, now, as I’m reading The Great Gatsby, I know that I’m perceiving it in a particular way (not really liking it, tbh) but I also do know that ten years later when I read, I’ll probably change my opinions about it. The timelessness of classics, and also how they keep changing with maturity and age is astonishing. All the classics I’ve re-read in the past (as well as modern classics) – I always keep finding something more and new from each re-read. It’s like, I look at them in a different light. And that, is one beautiful thing.

The Rules

  1. Answer a few of the questions below. You don’t have to answer all of them if you don’t want)
  2. Link to the project: click here.
  3. Tag three bloggers/friends that might like this challenge and continue it.
  4. Use the hashtag #SaveTheClassics

1. What is your favourite classic book?

I will have to go with Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte for this answer. There are some other classics which come close to my love for this book, but nothing quite matches this. I’ve read this about thrice, and the prose and the characterization always thrills me, each time over. The characters aren’t necessarily ‘good’ characters, but the way Emily Bronte has penned them down, how realistic and relatable she has made them is commendable. Also, I love how this book keeps changing meaning to me. As a girl of twelve or thirteen, I took the book as a love story, hardly understanding anything. On reading it again, I saw how it meant more, and why it is often termed a ‘revenge story’. But it was only in my last reread that I could really appreciate the beauty of the prose and characterization.

2. If your life was a classic, what would it be?

Most of the answers I’ve read to this question say Alice in Wonderlan or The Wonderful Wizard of Oz but okay, here’s the thing *drumroll* I HAVEN’T READ EITHER OF THEM. Yeah. I’m not the hugest fan of children’s classics/literature (hello there, Anne of Green Gables) . So if I absolutely had to choose, I’d probably say the the world of Narnia. C.S. Lewis is a classical author known for his fantastical world-building. Plus, Narnia is beautiful.

3. With which writer from the past would you like to have dinner?

G.B. Shaw. Ah. I’m currently studying his play Arms and the Man (for school) and it’s absolutely stellar. Be it the humor, or how wisely Shaw has subverted the ideals of his time. Be it the witty dialogues, or the hero who is less of a hero and more of an anti-hero. The story, the dialogues, the pace – I found everything spot-on. And the way the book satirises the standards of his era is really good. And the humor! I’ve read the play about 10-15 times now, and, I. Still. Laugh. Every time something funny comes up, I am still compelled to laugh because this is what is real humor.

So, of course, dinner with such an intelligent, funny man? Hell yeah!

4. Which classic literary character best describes you?

I can never answer such questions. I honestly don’t know.

5. What’s the first classic that you read?

I think it was Pride and Prejudice though I cannot be sure. I think I read the abridged versions of Kidnapped (by R. L. Stevenson ), Little Women (by L. M. Alcott) before moving on to unabridged classics. Pride and Prejudice is beautiful, of course. It’s one of the most loved and famous classics, and I’ve read it a few times since the first time I read it (again, hardly capturing the essence of the book). I respect Jane Austen so much for portraying her ideas through her characters, creating such timeless characters, and writing beautiful stories. And of course, her writing.

6. Which classic book could be the best gift?

As a gift, I think choosing a book which can never go wrong would be a good idea. Whereas with a classic, however famous it is, you have no way to know whether you’ll like it or not, yet I feel Rebecca by Daphne De Maurier would be a good choice. An exciting, thrilling, haunting novel, it is literally one of the most compelling classics I’ve read till date.


I tag Confessions Of A BibliophilePages Unbound and Rattle The Stars.

 

Leave a Reply

