Book Reviews

Cinder (Lunar Chronicles #1) – Marissa Meyer (Book Review)

First read in 2014. Re-read for the first time this month. 

112357121

Title : Cinder

Author : Marissa Meyer

Series : Lunar Chronicles #1

Genre : YA Fantasy, Retelling

Summary

Goodreads Summary

Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl.

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

General Opinion

I loved this book when I read it back in 2014. This time around, I was expecting to like it less, maybe because I thought my reading tastes had ‘grown’ but nope – this book is still as good and enjoyable as it was two years ago. I mainly picked this up because the first time I read this series – I never got around to reading Winter (book 4, which released last year) and this time – I plan to read all 4 books and complete the series. It was good first book, not a bang – but promising and sets a strong base for the rest of the series to develop.

Pros

1. StoryThe story is excellent. It is engaging, easy enough to wrap your head around without going into any kind of complication, and has just the perfect amount of mystery element to it. It is gripping enough to keep you going, and lays the foundation of the series well. I really liked how well it resembled Cinderella and yet managed to stand out as an invidividual storyline.

2. Forbidden Romance tropeI’m a sucker for the forbidden romance trope. I just loved the hints of romance added in here, and yet I can safely say that romance isn’t one of the major issues of the books. In fact, I loved how Meyer could keep the story separate from the romance, and didn’t make the romance the story. It was just a backstory, but even as a backstory, Meyer did justice to the romance. It wasn’t cheesy or stupid or flimsy – it was perfect.

3. Family-tropes exploredI love it when YA books (especially YA fantasy) can include familial relationships and pay attention to them. YA fantasy lacks mother-daughter or sibling relationship. I mean, it’s there, not as much as it should be. I love how the book explores different aspects of parent-child relationship, and mainly, sibling-relationship and also – friendship. That transforms the book from a one-dimensional thing to something which has substance.

4. ConceptFinally, I have to talk about the base or the concept of the story. When I first read Cinder, I had never read something like this before. Now, two years later, I can admit that I’ve read few YA books based on such a concept. I think it’s safe to say, this book is one of its kind.

Cons

I’m not listing anything because there is nothing in this book I disliked. It’s not a perfect book, by no means, but I couldn’t find anything bad/not-good in the book.

Recommend to?

All YA fantasy lovers.

A ‘good book’ or a ‘good read’?

A good book. A great book.

My Rating

3.75/5 stars

4 thoughts on “Cinder (Lunar Chronicles #1) – Marissa Meyer (Book Review)

Leave a Reply

