Book Buying

Recent Bookish Buys (#6)

“I shouldn’t have bought so many books”, – the beginning of every book haul.

So I’m going to cut that crap, and just declare that nope I don’t regret buying more books :D It makes me happy, and it adds books to my TBR, and the only thing I’m sorry for is my wallet :/ However, four of these books I received on my birthday (so I don’t feel that bad for myself). Also, this book haul definitely does not mean I’m going to stop buying books – I’m just going to try and control and restrict my hauls :) In fact, I just now ordered another book online :P


IMG_20160626_171423

So this is the pile of books I got this month! These are books I bought/received from the end of May to the middle of June. Thank you to all my lovely friends for giving me some of these books! (and also all the beautiful fandom tees!!)

So, the first four books in the haul are books I bought for myself on my birthday. My grandmother game me some money before going back to her hometown, and I decided (very foolishly) to spend all of that on books :P And my excuse? Birthday! (And come on, I’m allowed to gift myself on my birthday :D)

1. A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas

IMG_20160626_171619

*drumroll please* For this epic piece of amazingness with SJM decided to write and deliver into our lives. It was absolutely fantastic! I’m already re-reading it:P A Court of Mist and Fury is the second book in the A Court of Thorns and Roses trilogy, a YA fantasy series dealing with faes and their awesomeness. If you are a reader of fantasy, especially YA, then you need to pick up this trilogy ASAP!

2. Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

IMG_20160626_171610

The Shatter Me trilogy was among the last books I read last year, and one of my favorite all-time trilogies. It’s an amazing fantasy story about a girl named Juliette, whose touch is lethal, and how she and her group of friends move against a conniving government. I wanted to slowly collect these novels – so here it is!

3. Cinder by Marissa Meyer

IMG_20160626_171543

This is another series I loved (the Lunar Chronicles) though I have not yet read the last book (Winter). I wish to collect these books, and re-read the entire series from the start. It is a sci-fi series entailing a bunch of fairytale retelling told in a very new, innovative way.

4. Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes

IMG_20160626_171601

The only thing I know about this series is that it is epic fantasy and apparently, Game of Thrones for young readers – and you probably might not know this – but I’m a huge GoT fan (both books and tv show) so of course I had to get it!!

This next book, I bought because it was cheap. (Story of my life)

5. The Palace of Illusions by Chitra Kumar Devakaruni

IMG_20160626_171524

This book is a freakin’ retelling of Mahabharatha (an epic Indian tale) from Draupadi’s point of view. Like, why didn’t I know of this book? And, IT WAS PUBLISHED EIGHT YEARS AGO!! Of course I ahd to buy this book – it sounds amazing, and I’ve heard great things too.

The next four book were gifted to me by my wonderful friends.

6. Peter Pan by J. M. Barrie

IMG_20160626_171452

I love this edition. It gives off this old, classicy feeling, and is sturdy and a hardcover and just…amazing. I bought Peter Pan because I really want to read more of children’s classics, and this book seemed like a good one!

7. Reading Lolita in Tehran by Azar Nafisi

IMG_20160626_171641

A bunch of girls reading banned books? I’M IN! Had to get this book!! Also, it has beautiful deckled edges I can’t stop staring at.

8. A Work In Progress by Connor Franta

IMG_20160626_171631

I adore Connor Franta, and have been meaning to read his book since it came out. It’s a beautiful book to look at, and I’m pretty sure it will be a beautiful book to read too. Can’t wait to get to it!

9. Binge by Tyler Oakley

IMG_20160626_171654

This is a beautiful hardcover copy, and when I spotted it on a random shelf in Crossword, I literally squealed internally. He’s one of my favorite YouTubers, and I did read the first few pages of the book and I couldn’t stop grinning. CANNOT WAIT TO READ THIS.


So that was it for my book haul!! Got some amazing books last month, looking forward to more next month :P

4 thoughts on “Recent Bookish Buys (#6)

  1. I hate myself every time I enter a bookstore because I just /know/ I’ll walk out with something new even though I’ve got a huge pile of books to read! D: D: D:

    Lovely haul, btw, can’t wait to hear your opinions on them!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s exactly what happens to me! I get so tempted :D Thankfully, I visited a bookstore twice in last week and walked out without spending money. I was so proud of myself that I immediately texted my friends about how much self-control I had shown 😂🙈

      Like

Leave a Reply

