Wrap Ups

June 2016 Wrap Up

And just like that, half a year is gone.

Hello everyone! How are you all doing? I know I haven’t been very active lately, but am stuck with studies and projects and in the free time, reading. It’s been a crazy month and this is just the beginning :/ But however, I did manage to spend quite sometimes reading, this month, and though it was a sucky reading month, I’m still glad that I’ve at least read something. 


1. The Shadow Queen (Ravenspire #1) by C.J. Redwine (DNF)

23299513

really wanted to love this book – what with it being a Snow White retelling – but was so heavily disappointed that I had to DNF it. The book lacked substance, world-building, writing, well-sketched characters, and in general, the author could not properly execute any single aspect of the book. I gave this a 1/5 rating on Goodreads; for more thoughts, check out my review.

2. Cinder (Lunar Chronicles #1) by Marissa Meyer (Re-read)

11235712

This was a re-read for me – I last read this book in 2014 – and I absolutely loved it this time around too. It’s the start of a fantastical sci-fi series, and sets a very strong base for the series to develop. It has a great, gripping story and some really well-done characters. I gave this a 4/5 stars rating on Goodreads; for more thoughts, check out my review.

3. A Court of Mist and Fury (ACOTAR #2) by Sarah J Maas (Re-read)

179273951

This is an epic retelling of Hades and Persephone, and book two to the amazing A Court of Thorns and Roses trilogy. This book was absolutely spectacular, and it’s wonderful to see how much the series develops and the second book differs from the first one. I read this in May, but re-read it this month because I wanted to mark all the good scenes. I rated this a 5/5 stars on Goodreads; for more thoughts, check out my review.

4. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald (DNF)

4671

I DNF’ed this book at about 75% in. It’s not that I didn’t like the book (I was in fact, really enjoying the story and the pace of the book) but it’s just that this book wasn’t pulling me towards it. I just moved over to other books, completely forgot about this one, and later didn’t want to continue anymore. So I put it back on my shelf and tbh, I don’t feel that bad. I never feel bad for disliking/DNFing classics, because I know that there is a high chance in the future that I might come back to the book and like/love it all over again. So, I really don’t regret this – I’m sure 5 or 6 years down the line – I’ll probably have read it again and formed a better, stronger opinion.

5. The Problem With Forever by Jennifer L. Armentrout

26721568

I wanted to like this book so bad. It sounded like a deep, impactful contemporary, but I just had some major issues with it. I really liked the story, but the writing wasn’t really the best (to put it mildly) and also, a lot of major issues were sidetracked by the unnecessary romance. I think, after reading this book, and having moved over the Lux series, I’m pretty much reluctant to pick anything else by JLA ever again. I rated this book a 1/5 stars on Goodreads; for more thoughts, check out my review. 


So that was it for my wrap up! I know, not an impressive reading month, but it’s okay – I’m looking forward to better books in July :)

Have you read any of these books? And which books did you read in June?!

4 thoughts on “June 2016 Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

