Tags

The Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag!

It’s mid-year which means everyone has been doing this tag. I’ve seen this literally everywhere on WordPress and BookTube, and though initially I had decided not to do it, I was still tempted to this and here it is! It’s basically to evaluate and talk (freak out) about the books you’ve read in the first half of the year.

Also, I already did a (kinda) analysis/study over the books I read from January-June. Check it out by clicking here.

This tag was created by Chami @ ReadLikeWildFire and Ely @ Ely Jayne.


Best Book You’ve Read Yet in 2016

20820994

It’s weird that I just did the Why I Really Need to Reduce Reading YA Contemporary post on my blog, and here I am saying that a YA contemporary was my favorite book of the year. But regardless, I mentioned this book in the above post too, and this book was a masterpiece. It was absolutely beautiful, and I’ve read very few YA contemporaries of this kind. Check out my review here.

Best Sequel You’ve Read So Far In 2016

179273952

This book was bloody brilliant. It actually was (kinda) my favorite book of the year, but since I wanted to mention this book for this answer and not repeat any books, I’ll Give You the Sun made it to the ‘Best Book’ question. Check out my review here.

New Release You Haven’t Read Yet, But Want To

I’m more or less caught up on all the new releases which wanted to read but,

23299512 This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab is one book which released this month itself (I think?) and I want to read.

Most Anticipated Release for the Second Half of the Year

27362503

Colleen Hoover is queen, and this is her about-to-be released book. I’ve read a few ARC reviews of this book, and everyone has been raving about this book, saying that it’s her absolute best – which turns me on because HOW MUCH BETTER CAN SHE GET??

Biggest Disappointment

There are SO many. But, the award goes to –

12000020

I had the hugest hopes for this book – but it all just came crashing down. I had a major problem with the writing of the book, and how detached I was from every single thing. Check out my review here.

Biggest Surprise

22501028

Even though this book was nominated for the Man Booker Prize (2015), I still wasn’t expecting a lot from it when I picked it up. This was just a random book I decided to buy because I had heard a lot about it. But, this book was beautiful. Its simplicity and its realistic touch was surprising and overwhelming. One of the only four books I gave a 5 star this year on Goodreads. Check out my review here. 

Favourite New Author (Debut or New To You)

Maggie Stiefvater!! I read the enitre Raven Cycle this year, and I was stunned by it. She’s definitely my new favorite author <3 Check out my series review here.

Newest Fictional Crush

Warner from Ignite Me (I read the third book in the series this year)

Rhysand from ACOMAF

Newest Favourite Character

Ronan from The Raven Cycle. He was just glorious to read about, and probably my favorite thing/aspect of the entire story. I weeped for him in The Raven King when the thing I wanted to happen finally happened :P

Book That Made You Cry

Nothing really made me cry, but

18143977

got me really sad and depressed. It was just so sad. The beauty of the writing and the pain of the characters all created such an overwhelming effect and I was this near tears. Check out my review here.

Book That Made You Happy

19547856

This was just such a cheerful, enjoyable, cute YA contemporary! It made me blush and feel happy and hopeful and it was just a wonderful read :)

Favourite Book to Film Adaptation

6334 4954833 147865

I read Never Let Me Go ( which was extremely impactful and deep) and the movie was equally sad too. I have not read Brooklyn, but I absolutely loved the movie, and same with Love, Rosie. I did watch Me Before You a few days ago, but was not that impressed by it, sadly (because the book was beautiful).

Favourite Post You Have Done This Year

CANNOT choose. I love everything I post, otherwise I don’t post it at all.

Most Beautiful Book You’ve Bought This Year

25507925

Technically, I didn’t buy this book (I got it on my birthday) but it is absolutely beautiful. I don’t own any hardcover (except for one), and this big hardcover is glossy and soft and glorious.

What Book Do You Need to Read by the End of the Year

There is no book I need to read (what is it about books and compulsion anyway?) but I really would like to read Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo and its sequel before the year.


That was it! Have you done this tag? If not, I tag you!

Let me know your answers!

2 thoughts on “The Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag!

Leave a Reply

