July 2016 Wrap Up

Hello everyone! So July passed away way too soon (that’s what I say for every single month) but something amazing happened this month. I read so much!! And not just in quantity, but in quality too :D I read more books this month than I have in a single month since quite a while now, and thankfully, most of the books I picked up I ended up really enjoying or loving (barring a few).

Also, surprisingly, I read pretty diversely too, this month. My books range from 1 contemporary, 1 adult contemporary, 1 mythical retelling, 1 fairytale retelling, 1 memoir, 1 poetry collection, 1 psychological thriller, 2 literary fiction, 1 children’s classics to 1 children’s fantasy. So overall, I read through a different and wide variety of genres, and I really hope I keep having such reading months!

Total number of books read : 11

Format :

Physical books : 4

eARCS : 3

eBooks : 3

Audiobook  : 1 

Ratings :

5 star : 1

4 star : 5

3 star : 3

2 star : 2

1 star : 0


The Edge of Juniper by Lora Richardson

30330916

This book was provided to me by the author in exchange for an honest review. It’s a YA contemporary novel about a girl who goes to a small town to her cousin’s house, to spend the summer there while her parents are out on some ‘marriage-saving’ trip. It was a light, non-dramatic, nice kind of a story. Nothing too bad, but nothing that extraordinary either. Click here for my review!

The Palace of Illusions by Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni

1774836

This was my favorite book of the month, and is the fifth book I’ve rated with a 5 star on Goodreads this year. It was absolute magic and fantastic, and I loved and savored each and every word on each and every page. It’s a mythological retelling of Mahabharata – one of the two greatest Indian epics – told from the female lead’s POV. Click here for my review!

A Work In Progress by Connor Franta

22886113

Connor Franta is one of my favorite Youtubers, for his simplicity and his honesty and I just love watching him online (gosh that sounds so creepy :P) I’ve wanted to read this for a while now, and thankfully the book didn’t disappoint. It’s a mediocre-ly written, honest, in-depth, at times hilarious, and truly inspiring memoir about his life, and the formatting and the pictures of the book are beyond amazing. Click here for my review!

 

My Girl by Jack Jordan

30109213

This book is a psychological thriller – I received from NetGalley – and is the story of a woman whose daughter had been murdered and whose husband committed suicide. I had the highest hopes for this book, but sadly, it was really not good. Click here for my review!

 

The Sense of An Ending by Julian Barnes

10746542

This book won the Man Booker International Prize in 2011 (I think?) and I was really intrigued to find out what exactly can be hidden in the mere number of pages (less than 200) that it got a Man Booker! Thankfully, I picked it up and wasn’t disappointed. It was a lovely, poignant, thought-provoking book, and definitely did leave its mark. Click here for my review!

 

The Vegetarian by Han Kang

25489025

Two Man Bookers back to back! This one won it this year, and I’m so glad I decided to give this a try. The book hooked me right from its first paragraph, and it’s an unusual, gripping story which will play with your mind and pull you in no matter what. A strange, crazy story about a woman who has a dream and suddenly decides to turn vegan, this book deserves the much-coveted award. Click here for my review!

 

Born to Love, Cursed to Feel by Samantha King

30312512

This is a poetry collectionI received from NetGalley – and I gave up this book halfway through it. Not that the poems aren’t good, but they become tiring after a well. I remember being really impressed with the initial 20% of the book, but the main problem of the book is that it solely focuses on heartbreak and loss of love and break-ups, and in general, the sad side of romantic relationships. And after a while, I got really irritated with the whining and same tone of the book.

 

Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll

13023

Finally read this! Well – listened to it, but oh well. I’m not a hugest fan of children’s books, and was skeptic going into this, but oh my, thoroughly enjoyed it. Maybe that has to do with the fact that I listened to it, and the narrator did an absolutely fantastic job of bringing the book to life. Loved this!

 

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K. Rowling

6

I’ve been rereading this series this year, and after the third book, something happened and I never got around to reading the fourth. This month though, out of some crazy (and thankful) impulse, I picked this up, started reading, and couldn’t put it down. Absolutely fantastic, obviously!

 

Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

13206760

This one, too, was a re-read because this year I’ve made up my mind to finish off this series (I’ve still not read Winter). I loved this, obviously. It was so freaking good, and I love how this book, unlike a lot of YA fantasy books, didn’t focus on the romance at all, and rather focused on action and plot and characters. Wonderful read. Click here for my review!

 

All the Ugly and Wonderful Things by Bryn Greenwood

26114135

I finished this book just yesterday – and I received it from NetGalley – so review will be up soon (by Thursday I hope). This is kind of an Adult Romance contemporary and I have just way too many things to talk about this. Please do read my review for full thoughts. In short, this book is a love story between a little girl with a trashy childhood and a grown-up man. 


So yuppp. Those were all the books I managed to take down in July! I’m glad about reading most of these and overall, very happy with all the reading I’ve done.

Which books did you read in July?

5 thoughts on “July 2016 Wrap Up

  1. BeanCountingBookworm

    I can’t get through Goblet of Fire for some reason. I got about 30% in and just stopped there….. It’s just taking too long to get to the interesting stuff. I’m trying to get around to it this month.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

