Lists · Meme/Event

Top Ten Tuesday : Books I’d Buy Right Away

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme/event hosted by The Broke and the Bookish wherein, each week, a new topic is announced and bloggers participate in that and put up their own lists. Today’s topic is “Ten Books You’d Buy Right This Second If Someone Handed You A Fully Loaded Gift Card”


Trying to choose just 10 books is like a crazy thing to ask, but here you go :

1. Winter by Marissa Meyer

13206900

I will be reading Cress this month, so obviously I’m targeting Winter for next month. I’ve had fun reading the Lunar Chronicles, reading one book every month from June onwards. And I’m definitely going to get my hands on this one this month.

2. The Lives of Others by Neel Mukherjee

Lives of Others pbk mech.indd

Okay I’ll not lie. The only reason I really want this book is because it’s a literary fiction novel, was nominated for the Man Booker, is written by an Indian author, and the hardcover is cheap and beautiful. 

3. The Heart Goes Last by Margaret Atwood

24388326

I own two Margaret Atwood novels, and still haven’t read anything by her, which is a shame. However, I really want this book, because again, the hardcover is cheap and it’s apparently a dystopian novel!? I would love to read some adult dystopian.

4. J by Howard Jacobson

22370991

I’ve been trying to read more of Man Booker related novels, not just the winners but also the shortlists and nominees. This book caught my eye and now I cannot wait to get my hands on it!

5. We Are All Completely Besides Ourselves by Karen Joy Fowler

16176440

Another Man Booker shortlist. Another cheap, beautiful book. You know my reasons. 

6. Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

15507958

I read this book about 2 years ago, and I remember absolutely loving it. However, a lot of controversy has sparked up about both book and movie, and I really want to reread it to see whether my opinions have changed.

7. Karna’s Wife : The Outcast’s Queen by Kavita Kane

18306138

I read the absolutely enthralling Palace of Illusions last month, and that has me hooked to the story of Mahabharata. This book is written from the POV of Karna’s wife, and is an insight into his life. Since Karna was my favorite character of the book, I definitely am interested in this!

8. Breathing Lessons by Anne Tyler

31181

I read A Spool of Blue Thread a few months ago, and it’s one of the best books I’ve read this year, so of course I’m interested in reading more by this author. In fact, it’s a surprise that I still haven’t already read something else by her.

9. Don’t Let Him Know by Sandip Roy

22245553

I’ve been intrigued by this book ever since I saw it in Crossword, and the whole premise sounds really interesting.

10. The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle by Haruki Murakami

11275

I’m currently reading Kafka on the Shore, nearly two years after I first read a Murakami book (Norwegian Wood). Reading Kafka has made me realize how much I loved Murakami back then, and how much I still love his books now. It’s a shame it took so much time, but now no more. I need to get to his other books.


These are all the books I really want to buy SOON!

What are some books you want to buy?

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday : Books I’d Buy Right Away

  1. I got my copy of Winter in the mail today! If I hadn’t bought it already, that would definitely be on my list for this week. I really want to buy This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab, and I can’t wait to read it!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The Heart Goes Last is fantastic in that it’s hilarious but also terrifying dystopia. I had it on my list to because I got the book from the library and I need it for my shelf :) Great List!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

