Book Reviews

This Savage Song (Monsters of Verity #1) – Victoria Schwab (Book Review)

23299512

Title : This Savage Song

Author : Victoria Schwab

Series : Monsters of Verity #1

Genre : YA Fantasy


Summary

Goodreads summary :

There’s no such thing as safe in a city at war, a city overrun with monsters. In this dark urban fantasy from author Victoria Schwab, a young woman and a young man must choose whether to become heroes or villains—and friends or enemies—with the future of their home at stake. The first of two books.

Kate Harker and August Flynn are the heirs to a divided city—a city where the violence has begun to breed actual monsters. All Kate wants is to be as ruthless as her father, who lets the monsters roam free and makes the humans pay for his protection. All August wants is to be human, as good-hearted as his own father, to play a bigger role in protecting the innocent—but he’s one of the monsters. One who can steal a soul with a simple strain of music. When the chance arises to keep an eye on Kate, who’s just been kicked out of her sixth boarding school and returned home, August jumps at it. But Kate discovers August’s secret, and after a failed assassination attempt the pair must flee for their lives.

General Thoughts

enjoyed the book. To say that all my expectations were fulfilled would be an overstatement, because I did feel unsatisfied and wanted a bit more, but overall, this was still a really good book. This was my first V E Schwab book, and I’m definitely interested in checking out more of her work! I’ve anyway heard a lot about her, and she’s probably one of the few authors I haven’t ever heard anything negative of from others. I did enjoy the book a lot, and was on the verge of officially ‘loving’ it, until something happened in the end and it just put me off. Anyway, more of that later!

Pros

1. WritingSchwab’s writing is so strong, and so on point. I loved it. I wasn’t expecting the writing to be so good, but it really kind of blew me away. She just describes everything so well, with just what was needed to keep the content from becoming either too boring, or too dramatic and pretentious. It was just right, and it suited the mood of the book. I don’t think I was bored in a single page of the book, and every moment and every feelng was extremely well captured.

2. CharacterizationAgain, this aspect of the book was also on point. August and Kate are just really special characters, and the way they are crafted out and depicted was amazing! Also, both characters were based on such conflicting aspects within themselves  and yet each part of them stood out individually and managed to shine on its own. Both of them have different parts to them, and I think Schwab did a great job of merging the two parts in each character. Also, even the side characters were interesting, but they lacked the depth which the main characters had.

3. ConceptThe concept of the book – monsters and all that shizz – was s0 cool. I think it was really interesting, and I don’t think I’ve ever read something of the same sort before. The story itself may not be that original – that’s coming in the cons – but still, the concept of different kinds of monsters and monsters being born out of violence was new and different, and pretty interesting.

4. World-buildingloved the world-building, mostly because of how precise and to-the-point it was. It didn’t drag on and on, neither was it nonexistant – it was exactly how much it should be. All the elements of the world were well-placed and well-explained.

5. The FriendshipSo if you’ve been following this book’s reviews, you probably know that this book doesn’t have any romance! And that was such a relief.  I loved August and Kate’s friendship – the connection – they formed, and how it has the potential to develop into something more later on. Mainly, I loved that there was no love drama headache to go through, and instead the bond they shared seemed more speical.

Cons

1. That ending thoughThe book was a solid 4 stars for me, right till 90% when it just…meh. I was very unsatisfied with the ending; it was a complete end and the story does wrap up well but it just got a bit dramatic. [SPOILERS : That scene where Kate goes back to kill her father? Well, that was dramatically written and really put me off.] Overall, the ending, even though it wrapped everything off, was kind-of like an anticlimax, and fell flat to the buildup of the book. I was expecting something more exciting, but even the twists in the end were your typical twists in YA books. Was not a fan. [Yes, that last page was evil but that is just the author’s way of making sure her readers come back for the second book.]

2. Story and twistsI think the story itself, about the city being ruled by two different people and the hostility between the two is something we’ve seen a lot in YA. I know I praised the concept just now – but that was the concept and the elements. The overall story though? Not that unique. I think it was Schwab’s expertise as an author that she managed to hold our attention, and the story in itself was nothing out-of-the-world. Also, the main conflict in the book and the twists are way too overused in YA.

Recommend to?

YA Fantasy lovers.

A ‘good book’ or a ‘good read’?

A good book. An enjoyable read.

My Rating

3.5/5 stars

8 thoughts on “This Savage Song (Monsters of Verity #1) – Victoria Schwab (Book Review)

  1. I have A Darker Shade of Magic waiting in my TBR pile, but I’m excited to give it a go at some point because I’ve heard such good things about Victoria Schwab. It was nice to read your review from the perspective of someone who hasn’t read any of her books before, like me! I’ll have to pick this up in the future if I like A Darker Shade of Magic. Great review :)

    Like

    1. Well you could give it a try and see for yourself! Personally, I thought that the ending could’ve been more exciting and interesting; it just fell flat and the twists were pretty common.

      Like

Leave a Reply

