The Pastry Book Tag

I saw this tag on Bookshelves & Biros and since I haven’t done a tag in a long while, I really wanted to give this one a try! Plus, this tag involves two of my favorite things in the world – books and pastries!! So yep, here it is :)

Croissant:
Name a popular book or series that everyone (including you) love

I really wanted to answer this with the quintessential Harry Potter but that would be too common an answer, so, The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. This is probably the first trilogy to establish YA dystopian as a ‘thing’ and everything that I’ve read after this, every YA dystopian – nothing comes even close to this. It was fantastic, with a fascinating (albeit dangerous) world, strong and complex characters and an engrossing storyline.

hunger_games_trilogy

Macaroon:
Name a book that was hard to get through but worth it at the end

For this answer, I’m going to go with an adult fantasy series, and this will be no surprise – A Song of Ice and Fire by GRRM. This was a difficult series, not just in terms of length, but also in complexity and its scale. It’s a huge series, with more than a thousand characters, and having to keep track of so much happening simultaneously was pretty taxing. But! In the end (well technically, it’s not yet finished but let’s take this as ‘at the end of the day’) – I have never regretted reading this, and I’m so glad I decided to pick this up because it’s my favorite fantasy series.

game-of-thrones-a-song-of-ice-and-fire

Vol-Au-Vent:
Name a book that you thought would be amazing but fell flat

I’m taking the word ‘flat’ here as emotionally flat, and for this answer, I’ll have to go with Every Day by David Levithan. I read this when there was a lot of hype surrounding the book, and I thought the book would be an amazing read. However, even though I really liked the concept of the book, it did nothing for me emotionally.

51ixfx3chrl

Pain Au Chocolat:
Name a book that you thought would be one thing but turned out to be something else

For this, I’m going to go with one of my most disappointing reads of this year – The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi. I thought it would be a dreamy, lush, The Wrath and the Dawn-type book with a beautiful princess story and good romance. Unfortunately, it was (for me) absolute gibberish and I was just really disappointed with it.

the-star-touched-queen-high-res

Profiterole:
Name a book or series that doesn’t get enough attention

The Clifton Chronicles by Jeffrey Archer. It’s a thrilling, suspenseful series spanning the life of two boys right from their childhood till their adult lives, and it is brilliant. I still haven’t read its 6th book and I don’t even know whether the series is going to be continued, but this is definitely a series which needs to get more attention.

untitled-design

Croquembouche:
Name a book or series that’s extremely complex

This answer belongs to The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater. Plot-wise, this series is initially complex, and it takes a while to get into it (but once you’re in, you won’t want out!) But the complexity is more of the characters and the world. They’re beautifully sketched, complex, sinister and utterly magical.

the-raven-cycle-series

Napoleon:
Name a movie or TV show based off a book that you liked better than the book itself

Though part of this answer could be because I like staring at Benedict Cumberbatch’s on the screen, BBC Sherlock is far better than the books. I’ve attempted reading very few of the Sherlock Holmes novels, but the few novels were enough for me to realise that this isn’t a book series I would enjoy. I’d much rather watch it on TV!

series2promo

Empanada:
Name a book that was bittersweet

I’m going to go with the latest bitterweet book I read – It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover. It was sweet and beautiful in the inital pages, and so bitter and painful in the second half. It gave me so many conflicting emotions, and was such a beautiful, lovely, painful read.

27362503

Kolompeh:
Name a book or series that takes place somewhere other than your home country

Almost every book I read! I hardly read books set in India – something I should do more often – and it sucks that I don’t pick up more Indian author books. So of course, 99.9% of the books I read are set outside of my home country. So I’d rather not choose one single book. Rather, you can look at all the books I’ve mentioned in this post, and those are answer enough.

Pate A Choux:
Name one food from a book or series that you would like to try

Ah. Take me to any of the Hogwarts’ feasts – I’ll be delighted!! Ooh and especially, if it’s the Christmas dinner!

0056cbfe00000258-0-image-a-1_1443610550029


So that was the Pastry Book Tag! I don’t tag anybody – you;re free to do this if you want to :)

One thought on “The Pastry Book Tag

  1. Pingback: The Pastry Book Tag | novellique

Leave a Reply

