Book Buying

Recent Bookish Buys (#7)

haul

BOOK HAUL TIME!!!

So yep, I bought more books! And because I’ve decided not to buy more books in September, I thought I’d do a post of all my recent buys and just put away these books because they’ve been lying around on my desk for way too long. All the books in this haul, I bought from the beginning of July to mid-August, and I did end up spending more money than I wanted to, but nvm :P

The Mistress of Spices by Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni

I read The Palace of Illusions by the same author in June, and it’s one of the best books I’ve read this year. This is pretty much Divakaruni’s most famous book, and it is about a woman who masters the art of spices (or something?) and other stuff (I officially suck at book summaries). I cannot wait to read this!

Before We Visit the Goddess by Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni

This is Divakaruni’s newest novel, and I got it super cheap at a second hand store, and jumped at the chance of buying it. It is super short and I cannot wait to dive in!

Scarlet (Lunar Chronicles #2) by Marissa Meyer

This is a retelling of Red Riding Hood and book 2 in the Lunar Chronicles series and I’ve already read this last month. It was really good, and was an amazing continuation to book one, Cinder.

scar

Cress (Lunar Chronicles #3) by Marissa Meyer

This is the third book in the Lunar Chronicles, and is a retelling of Rapunzel. I’m currently reading this book, and it’s a really exciting, amazing one. I love how all the stories have merged in this one, and how it is slowly heading into an interesting direction.

cress

Cometh the Hour by Jeffrey Archer

finally have the sixth book in Archer’s Clifton Chronicles series, Cometh the Hour. Tbh, I don’t know when I’m going to read this, because I hardly remember anything from the last 5 books. My plan is to not re-read the entire series, but to read the summaries (since I’ve already read the five books twice) and then move on to the sixth one. But honestly? I don’t see that happening any time soon.

cometh

Train to Pakistan by Khushwant Singh

Khushwant Singh is probably one the most famous Indian authors and I’m yet to read anything by him – which is a shame. That is exactly the reason why I picked this up when I saw it in a second-hand book store, and all I know about this is that it is about the Partition, and invariably very sad and painful.

Don’t You Cry by Mary Kubica

This was a very unexpected buy – my mother randomly gave me some money and I basically impulse-bought it. However, thankfully, I have a lot of desire to read this book. All I know? It’s a psychological thriller and I’m sold on this!

The Lives of Others by Neel Mukherjee

Okay I’ll admit it – the main reason I bought this is because of the beautiful cover. It is so gorgeous. It was shortlisted for the Man Booker in 2014 (or maybe 2015?) and that is the main reason I want to read this.

lives

Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma

I read this book two years ago – and was awestruck by it. I had to buy this when Amazon lowered its price to a ridiculous level. I’m so glad I have it now! It’s an extremely emotional and deep story about an unusual relationship and how this makes you question every notion you hold.

contemp

I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

This is my favorite YA contemporary – and I read it this year a few months ago. Of course I had to buy it! And now finally – finally – I own all my favorite YA contemporaries (bar one) and can reread them anytime I want!

Karna’s Wife : The Outcast’s Queen by Kavita Kane

I read The Palace of Illusions in June and was intoxicated by the retelling of Mahabharata. Absolutely infatuated, especially with my favorite character Karna, I was desperately searching for a book which would retell this story from Karna or someone close to him’s POV. And I found this book! Cannot wait to dive in :)


So that was my book haul for the month of July/August! I have two of these books in my mind which I’ll probably get to very soon – and as for the rest, I have no idea. But, I’m definitely excited to read (and reread) all of them and am so glad I got new books!

Follow me on instagram – @goingthroughbooks

Have you read any of these books? Share your opinions!

 

2 thoughts on “Recent Bookish Buys (#7)

Leave a Reply

