Meme/Event

T5W : Books I Will Never Read

This comes off as a pessimistic topic, but it is a realistic one. Today’s Top 5 Wednesday asks us to list out books which we are never going to read, and even though I had to think a lot, I have a clear set of books which I’m pretty damn sure I’ll never read in my entire life.


1. After You – Jojo Moyes

25041504

I read Me Before You wayyy before all the hype, much before it became ‘the big thing’, much before the movie; and back when I read it, it was just a normal romance book slowly gaining popularity. I loved it then, it became one of my favorite books ever and I remember being so pleasantly surprised by it. (Although I doubt I’d have the same reaction had I read it for the first time now, since I’m a much more critical reader now) but yeah, like I said, in my eyes : that book was perfect and still is, somehow. After You threatens to disrupt that perfect picture I have in my mind. I don’t understand why authors have to continue books which would have worked perfectly as a standalone; I mean Will and Lou’s story ended on a sad but perfect note in Me Before You, and After You basically scares me. (Plus, the book has way too many negative reviews). I don’t want to read a sequel which doesn’t live up to even half of what the first book was, and I have absolutely no desire in reading the sequel.

2. Lady Midnight (whatever the series name is) – Cassandra Clare

25494343

So far in my reading life, I’ve come upon quite a few author whom I’ve decided are not worth my time. It’s not some hasty, hurried decision – I’ve tried and tested them, and they’re not just for me. I’ve read half of The Mortal Instruments and the entire Infernal Devices and I’m pretty much done with Cassandra Clare. Not interested anymore. (I’m going to stop typing now because I don’t want to fight with anyone #sorrynotsorry)

3. Bared to You – Sylvia Day

13572249

I definitely am not (and never will be, I hope) in the mood for a book solely focused on erotica and romance. I didn’t hate FSoG as much as others hated it (I read it at an age when reading erotica was ‘forbidden’ so the thrill was different and I’m not ashamed of that. But, if I read it now, I’d probably puke). I’m slowly distancing myself from the romance genre, I mean, romance mixed with something else is great. But solely romance? Nope. And that too with erotica? OH MY. NOW WAY.

4. Life of Pi  – Yann Martel

4214

I liked the movie, but I don’t think I’m going to be able to bear the book. Just, books with this kind of adventure are no longer alluring to me (not that this book was ever alluring.) But in general, the genre ‘adventure’ has become very bland to me; I guess I’m just no more interested. Plus, the movie was nice to watch because of the visuals and the graphics, but I don’t think I can read all of that and go through descriptions of things which are much better enjoyed in a visual mode. So, nope.

5. The Wolves of Mercy Falls – Maggie Stiefvater

6068551

Even though Maggie Stiefvater has become one of my favorite authors this year, her previous series just don’t interest me. Like, at all. Werewolves are no longer alluring or ‘cool’ or whatever to me, I’m over that phase and I’m never going to pick up this series. I don’t care if it’s amazing or not, but a series about werewolves? N-O-P-E.


Those were some of the books I don’t plan on ever reading (of course there are more!) and I hope you enjoyed this post!

Have you read any of these books?

Follow my new bookstagram – @goingthroughbooks

7 thoughts on “T5W : Books I Will Never Read

  1. Totally agree on After You. I read Me Before You when it first came out in 2013?14? And I loved it and it was so strange watching it grow in popularity, but I just feel that a second book isn’t necessary. As heartbreaking at MBY was, I felt satisfied at the end and I don’t want anything to alter my perception of the story.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes exactly. Watching it grow in popularity was strange but at the same time, I was happy that more and more people are reading it. But I don’t feel it has any need for a sequel. I hate to say this about authors, but releasing a sequel seems like a way to make more money.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Disagree on Life of Pi, but if you’ve already seen the movie, then it’s probably too late. For me it was a classic book-better-than-the-movie kinda deal. A decent, but doable, amount of reading to get to the wonderful, but horrible, ending. Did you guys who didn’t like it get the ending in the book/movie? Not so sure some people got the ending at all.

    Like

  3. I loved ‘Silver Bay’ by Jojo Moyes but I must admit I am not a big fan of sequels, especially when it comes to books with stories that have ended on a beautiful note. I have read a book by Silvia Day and didn’t enjoy it much, so I think even I would give her book a miss. For the record, I didn’t like “Fifty Shades of Grey” by E.L James as I found it unbearably boring.

    Like

Leave a Reply

