Lists

Bookish Buying Resolutions

Hi hello how are you doing? ^_^

I’m sorry I haven’t been posting a lot, I’ve just been busy with exams and now I’m just waiting for tomorrow’s paper to get over, then I have three days and then the last exam and then I am free!!! I’ll be taking a two-day break and doing some goddamn reading (because clearly that’s not happening now) and then jumping into my studies again (ah, life). But basically, October is super-exciting because we have two huge festivals coming up (YASS FINALLY this is what I’ve been waiting for), there are two big movies (Bollywood) coming out at the end of the month and one other big movie released two days ago and I’m just super excited because I finally ordered my copy of Empire of Storms and also acquired Crooked Kingdom so YAY ME. October looks promising.

But, back to the topic for today. Let’s talk about my book buying resolutions.

So most of the big online shopping sites in India are having the hugest sales currently (because of the two festivites coming up) and obviously I’ve been looking at the books on each site and trying to decide what to buy and what not to. I have a fixed amount of money I’ve decided to spend (and tbh, I’ve pretty much decided and am just waiting for a few more days before ordering) but basically, I’ve just come up with some resolutions related to my book buying. Some of this has been in my head for quite a while, some of them I came up with recently. Mainly, now that there’s (hardly) five months to my board exams, I’m just trying to bring some order and practicality to my book buying.

*This is NOT a book buying ban. I don’t buy a lot of books in the first place (on an average, six books a month) so I’m no imposing a ban, but am just trying to regulate and put my money into better use.

I don’t have a lot of money. My parents might, but they don’t buy books for me (and that’s mainly because I buy them myself or read ebooks which are way cheaper). I envy teens whose parents give them money solely for book-buying or entertainment purposes, and everything I buy, I save from my pocket money. But pocket money has to be used for travelling, snacking (because ah the tempotations of the various food joints all within 1 kilometre of my school) and for random other shit. So nope, I cannot save a lot of money solely for book buying, and am always on the lookout for deals.

But at the same time, I’m not the kind of person who’d buy 30 books a month. I don’t understand people who buy thirty books a month (it’s different if you receive them from publishers) and even if I have all the money in this world, I would never buy that many books a month. The pressure is terrifying and insanse.

So I was thinking of all this when it suddenly struck me that I need to buy books wisely, and stick to certain conditions. I just sometimes look at books on my shelf and feel regret for buying them or spending that much money on them and it sucks because how could I be so stupid and buy books such randomly? So, the resolutions!

Not buying any more YA contemporary

Don’t worry, this post will not turn into a passively-expressed hate-filled rant (trust me) but if you’ve been on my blog for any length of time, you probably know that I’m not the hugest fan of YA contemporary. I do have a few favorites, (I call them ‘masterpieces’ :P) but apart from that, I don’t think I have a lot of fond memories of this genre. And more importantly, I feel that my loving a YA contemporary is very, very rare. About 80% of the YA contemporaries I read disappoint me, 15% surprisingly please me and I only extremely love 5% of the total. I don’t want to spend money on random YA contemporary anymore, I’d rather buy something from this genre after I’ve read and loved it (for the sake of collection). So, yeah, I’m most definitely not buying any more YA contemporaries unless I’ve already read it and fallen in love with it.

Not buying first book in a series (for next six months)

At least for the next six months, I’m pretty confident I won’t be starting any new series/trilogies. The phase of serious study has come, and acing those board exams is on everyone I know’s mind. So right now, committing myself to something new is definitely not my plan. I already own two first books of a series, and for now, my plan is to buy books which are a part of a series only if I’ve read the series (and loved it) and wish to add it to my collection. 

Not buying big books (for next six months)

This is based on a similar idea as the previous point – I’m not picking up any big book currently (except Emprie of Storms and Crooked Kingdom). Again, this has got everything to do with school. I’m at this point where it takes me weeks to read a 400 page book (though that’s also because I read multiple books at once) and there’s no way I’m going to pick up anything bigger than 500 pages for the next six months. Also, I have tons of big books already on my shelves, waiting to be read, so I have a stock of them and I don’t need more (for now.)

Not buying any book without keeping it in my cart for at least two weeks (unless the price is RIDICULOUSLY low)

Impulse buying should be made criminal. I cannot tell you how many books I’ve bought on impulse and then later regretted buying. So now, I’ve decided not to buy books without keeping them on my cart (I usually shop online) for at least two weeks. Now, there’s a catch here. If the prices are ridiculously low, like, unimaginable low, then yes : I’m allowed to buy them. I haven’t set the degree of ‘ridiculously low’ but nevermind. I won’t impulse-buy.

Buy the books I’ve read and loved and want to collect

See this way, I can satisfy my want of new books AND at the same time, not increase my physical TBR! There are loads of books I want to collect which I’ve already read and loved (I started buying books about an year ago, so I don’t own too many of them) and one way of buying books without creating pressure about reading them is to buy read books. Simple! :D


So this was short list of book buying resolutions. 

Do you follow any of these? How do you control your book buying impulses? Share below!

10 thoughts on “Bookish Buying Resolutions

  1. I completely agree with the YA contemporary ban. Especially since you tend to get through them so much quicker than other boos. Unless I LOVE the book already, do I really need a book that’s only going to entertain me for one day? Your “two weeks in the cart” rule is great, I might try that!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes exactly, YA contemps are such fast reads that once you’ve read them, it doesn’t seem worth the money unless it is exceptionally good. The ‘two-week’ rule actually helps a lot – it prevents impulse buying to a large extent.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I have ZERO self control. But i’ve been great at the amazon sale this time. Only two books. Kafka and Sula. Because both were really cheap and I already love Kafka but since I stopped reading ebooks I needed a physical copy. Good luck with your ban. I’m trying not to buy the and books in a series for a long time. It seems a waste to be honest, especially considering how similar they’re all becoming.

    Liked by 1 person

        1. I ordered Empire of Storms and Americanah on infibeam (coz EoS was ridiculously low priced on it) and Purple Hibiscus, Crown of Midnight and Unravel Me on Amazon (the last two books for collection purposes). I’m kinda debating buying some more because I want to unhaul a few books but we’ll see 😅

          Liked by 1 person

            1. Yah sure I’ll make a post about it :D And yeah I just discovered Infibeam! And some of the prices there are really, really low and they’ve got such a good collection of books *_*

              Liked by 1 person

  3. I just discovered infibeam too.Previously I had to buy books from amazon but now I found another site.
    I get what you mean by the sale though.Even I bought two books in the sale :)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

