Book Buying

Recent Bookish Buys (#8)

It’s another BOOK HAUL! I acquired all of these books from mid-September to mid-October and I’m definitely, hundred percent NOT buying any more books till mid-November. I’ve made up my mind, and I’m so sticking to this. Thing is, I hardly read anything nowadays because of school so it basically makes no sense of me buying so many books. So yep, the next book haul you’ll see here will be at the end of the year!

Out of the 14 books and 1 diary pictured, 3 of them were sent by publishers, 2 were bought by my dad, 1 was gifted to me by a family friend and the rest were all purchased online :)


One Half From the East by Nadia Hashimi – I received this book from HarperCollins India and it is a children’s book about a young girl who has to dress up as a boy to help her family survive. I’ve just started reading it yesterday, and though the writing is taking a bit to get used to, the story is quite interesting right from the very start.

east

The Boy Is Back by Meg Cabot – This is random adult chick-lit romance about this guy who leaves his high-school girlfriend back in their hometown and never contacts her for ten years; after which he is called back to his town and meets that girl again. I read this recently, and it was a really light, fluffy and quick read! (Read my reveiw here!)

boy

It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover – I’ve already read this before, and bought the book (well, my dad bought it from me) for the sake of owning it. I loved this book, it was strong and heartbreaking and extremely thought-provoking. (Read my review here!)

ends

A Forgotten Affair by Kanchana Banerjee – This is my very first physical ARC – and this is so special to me! The story is about a woman who wakes up from a coma after an accident, and having lost all her memory, has to refamiliarize herself with her life. I liked the story, but I wish that the execution had been better. (Read my review here!)

Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie – After having read Behold the Dreamers by Imbolo Mbue last month, I’ve been wanting to read more and more of diverse literature. I feel like I read something diverse after so long, and also, this book is extremely famous so I really wanted to give it a try.

Purple Hibiscus by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie – I usually don’t buy multiple books by an author I’ve not read before, but this book was cheap. So I had to get it!

Unravel Me by Tahereh Mafi – I read the Shatter Me trilogy at the very end of last year, and I absolutely fell in love with it. I’ve wanted to own this book for a long while now, and thus got hold of this book!

Crown of Midnight by Sarah J Maas- I love the Throne of Glass series, and I’ve been collecting this too. I own all the books in the series now, except for the first one – and I cannot wait to reread the whole thing!

criwn

Behind Closed Doors by B.A. Paris- Apart from a couple of negative reviews, I’ve heard really, really good things about this book and psychological thrillers are my weakness. I kind of already know what the book is about (a husband keeping his wife imprisoned) because the back of the books clearly insinuates that  but I’m hoping that the book is more than just that.

behind

The Tenant of Wildfell Hall by Anne Bronte – I’ve always wanted to read this classic, considering how much I love the works of Jane and Charlotte Bronte. When I spotted this on Amazon in the beautiful Penguin English Library edition – that too at really cheap prices – I had to get it!

Empire of Storms by Sarah J Maas – This is the latest installment in the Throne of Glass series, and I’ve been dying to get to this.

empire

Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen – I got the stunning Vintage Classics edition of this book – and I cannot wait to collect the rest! I love Austen, I love her writing and her stories  and I don’t think I need a reason to read and buy her books – they’re amazing.

bbey

My Gita by Devdutt Patnaik – Devdutt Patnaik is an Indian author I’ve been meaning to try out since a long time now. I was given this book by a family friend of mine and I’m so, so glad that I can finally read one of his books!

About Grace by Anthony Doerr – I know nothing about this book, except that it probably has wonderful writing because Anthony Doerr. I read his All the Light We Cannot See earlier this year and absolutely fell in love with it. I cannot wait to read more by this author!


So these were all the books I acquired over the last few weeks! I’m excited to read all of them – and I’m so glad of owning them too!

Have you read any of these books? Also, is adding a lot of pictures to my post annoying or distracting?

Follow me on my bookstagram – @goingthroughbooks

15 thoughts on “Recent Bookish Buys (#8)

  1. I love It Ends With Us so much! The classic edition Jane Austen book looks super pretty! Haha, you have the entire Throne of Glass series except the first book and I have only the first book :P

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yep me too! I loved that book 😍 And yes, this edition is really, really pretty! And oh haha, where did you buy ToG? All the books of the series are quite cheap on Amazon except for the first one which is double the price 😢

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I found a paperback in the Crossword of some mall. If you’re collecting hardbacks, then it’s a different story. I did find it in the adult fantasy section for some reason, the rest of the books of the series were in the Young Fiction section… Aw but Diwali sales are coming! Don’t be disheartened :P

        Like

          1. I just checked on Amazon – the rest of the series is very cheap! :0 On Flipkart, TOG is going for 340. Not the cheapest but definitely cheaper than Amazon! Though you may have to pay for delivery… Looks like you’ll probably find it cheaper in a bookstore than online

            Like

Leave a Reply

