Tags

Unpopular Opinions Book Tag – Updated

I did this tag a few months ago, and because it’s been some time since I last did a tag or talked about my unpopular opinions, and also because I love this tag, I thought I’d do an updated version of it! This tag was created by The Book Archer and it is basically a bunch of questions about your opinions on famous books/authors! I’ll try my best not to repeat any answers, but if that does happen, please don’t mind! :)


A popular book or series that you didn’t like

120000201

 I had the hugest hopes from this book, in lieu of the many acclamations and praises and awards this book has received, and also because of the interesting subject/theme of the book. However, I have to say that this is probably one of the most disappointing reads of my life; I could not connect with the writing and the storyline seemed bland. The themes were very interesting, and I can see how this book is so important and well-loved to so many people, but it just didn’t work for me.

A popular book/series that everyone seems to hate but you love

10429045

I feel like this is one of the series which is beset with the tropes I always keep ranting about, and yet somehow I was so fascinated by Mafi’s beautiful writing and the characters. And by characters, I mean Warner. I can’t even. I’ve heard a lot of people hating this book/series, and yet I’m so in love with it!

A love triangle where the main character ends up with the person you did NOT want them to end up with

18006496

[Spoilers ahead]

I was super prepared to see Aelin and Rowan grow into best friends, but it was all totally ruined in this book. I haven’t yet read Empire of Storms but I do know that they become officially together in it, and that just bugs me so much. I want Aelin to either die, or end up alone because now I’ve reached a point where even though I enjoy the series, I’d prefer ignoring everything she and her pretty boyfriend do :))))))

A popular book genre you hardly reach for

Over the last 1 year, I’ve been actively avoiding the dystopian genre, and I still can’t figure out why. I think the last dystopian I read was the Shatter Me series and after that, I’m kinda done with this genre. I honestly cannot remember a single dystopian book I’ve read this entire year, and even if I did, it clearly didn’t make its mark. And it’s not just that, I’m not even that interested in this genre anymore.

A popular author you can’t seem to get into

This totally has to be Patrick Ness; I’ve read two books by him (The Knife of Never Letting Go and The Rest of Us Just Live Here) and I ended up slightly impressed by the first one and DNFing the second one. I just cannot seem to get into his writing or his stories, and do not understand all the love his work receives. I’m planning on giving A Monster Calls a try soon, because that is the only book of his which really interests me now, and I hope I end up loving the book!

A popular book trope you’re tired of seeing

The unaware normal MC being pushed into a strange, paranormal world and adjusting to it in a heartbeat. This trope is something which used to really excite me earlier, but with time, the unrealistic-ness and ridiculous-ness of this situation became more evident. I don’t like books where the MC is a part of the normal world, but suddenly has to join a fictional world and she/he’s adjusts to this change so damn quickly it’s almost unbelievable.

A popular series you have no interest in reading

21414439

The concept (storyline) of the book sounds nothing amazing, and all the hype the book received completely ruined it for me. Also, I could do away with stories about witches and other paranormal beings.

What movie/TV show adaptation do you prefer more than the book?

6186357

This book was actually really mediocre, it was nothing compared to the other dystopians I read around that time – even though it has a really interesting concept. However, I was so intrigued by the movie (I loved it) and I watched it with my mom and I remember my mom getting crazy excited after this movie was over. She literally made me download the second movie (The Scorch Trials) right then and we watched it that day itself (unfortunately, it wasn’t that good). As for The Scorch Trials book, I DNF’d it after about thirty pages.


So that was all I had to say about my unpopular opinions! Share some of your opinions below!

7 thoughts on “Unpopular Opinions Book Tag – Updated

  1. Oohhh you didn’t like Ari and Dante? Bummeeerrr because I love it hahah it’s not totally ground breaking or something but I just simply love it and couldn’t say anything bad about it :P aaand I dislike Shatter Me!! Hahaha guess we have very different opinions :’) HOWEVER, I totally agree with Queen of Shadows. Actually with the whole series. My ships had completely sunk and I’m completely done shipping anyone with anyone. Done, I’m just there for the plot </3

    Like

    1. No I was really unaffected by that book. Yep our opinions do differ but that just makes it more exciting :’) My ship has completely sunk too and I’m just not interested now in who ends up with whom. I hope Aelin dies though.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

