Lists

Favorite Books I’ve Read in 2016!

It’s the end of the year, and it’s time to make lists and lists and lists! I’m going to be (hopefully) putting up lots of lists on my blog in the next several weeks – all pertaining to the reading that I’ve done this entire year and the plans I have for next year!

So firstly, let’s begin by stating the most obvious fact of all : 2016 went by too fast! Honestly, November and December lasted mere seconds and now we’re back to a fresh start, and I cannot wait to begin my reading afresh!

I didn’t do a lot of reading this year – I read a total of 71 books (excluding rereads) – but it’s still about 36 books more than my goal of reading 35 books this year, and I’m so thrilled about that! I had initially kept a very low goal for this year, in lieu of this year being hectic (my 12th grade) and I was so sure that I would not be able to get any reading done. However, I surprised myself and ended up reading much more than I thought!

Today I’m going to be talking about the best books I read this year. The list contains series, but does not contain rereads. 

In no particular order :

Since You’ve Been Gone – Morgan Matson

sy

I think the main reason I loved this book so much was how much I could relate to the main character – I could totally see myself in her and her actions. Though initially I was kind of unimpressed by the book, it grew on me slowly and then became one of my favorite YA contemporary books! I did find the ending a tad bit flat – but the entire book felt like a journey and it was absolutely beautiful. Read my review here.

The Raven Cycle – Maggie Steifvater

the-raven-cycle

I’m so glad I discovered The Raven Cycle series by Maggie Stiefvater – it’s absolutely, absolutely beautiful. The best aspect of the book is its characterization and writing – I never thought a fantasy series could be that well written – it’s lyrical, mystical and suits the mood of the books perfectly. The characters are my babies, they’re precious, realistic and so good. Read my series review here.

A Spool of Blue Thread – Anne Tyler

22501028

This one was an unexpected read. I hadn’t even heard of this book until I saw it on Amazon one day as the winner of the Pulitzer Price. Naturally, I was intrigued and because it was also cheap, I ordered it. And damn, was this book a surprise! It’s a standalone novel chronicling the lives of Whitshanks family and it was an absolutely heartfelt, endearing story. Read my review here.

All the Light We Cannot See – Anthony Doerr

download

This is one of the best World War II novels I’ve ever read – albeit a bit depressing – and the writing is spectacular. I swear, the writing alone made me fall in love with the book. The story is sad but it’s a good, strong story and the characters were amazing. Read my review here.

I’ll Give You the Sun – Jandy Nelson

20820994

This book, ever since I read it, has been my favorite YA contemporary novel of all times. The writing was beautiful, the characters so damn realistic and the whole story and the various things it made me feel just made this book so, so special. It was just one of those books for me – full of realizations and startling moments and it completely stole my breath. Read my review here.

A Court of Mist and Fury – Sarah J Maas

sjm-acomaf

This book blew me away. I loved the first book in the series, A Court of Thorns and Roses but this book was something else totally. Maas’ storytelling is absolutely stellar, and though I had issues with the romance, I just fell in love with this series all over again when I read this book. Read my review here.

The Palace of Illusions – Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni

1774836

The Palace of Illusions by Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni was a surprise read – and what a wonderful surprise. This brilliant retelling of Mahabharata was splendidly written, and the complexity of the characters added such mystique and charisma to the book. Read my review here.

The Vegetarian – Han Kang

the_vegetarian_-_han_kang

This is the winner of the Man Booker International Prize of 2016, and I was in a huge literary fiction kick at the time of the year that I read this, and I’m so glad I decided to read this. This book is one of those thrilling reads which has an imrpint on your mind long after you’ve finished it. It was very intricately written, nicely detailed and so intriguing. Read my review here.

It Ends With Us – Colleen Hoover

27362503

It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover is probably on of the most real, raw, and emotional love stories I’ve ever read. It was shockingly intense and was so much better than most other Colleen Hoover books (even though her other books are amazing too) and I’m just so glad I got to read this book! Read my review here.

Six of Crows duology – Leigh Bardugo

untitled-1

This duology was fantasy of another complete level. It’s unlike anything I’ve ever read before, and it was just absolutely brilliant. I haven’t read a lot of books about a heist before, and this one completely blew my mind away. Read my review here.


So that was my list of all the amazing, glorious, fabulous books I’ve read this year! Can you see any of your own favorites here? Comment below about your favorite books!

2 thoughts on “Favorite Books I’ve Read in 2016!

  1. My wife and I love The Raven Cycle. We actually just started a re-listen. And I’ll Give You the Sun was definitely one of the best books I read all year. Probably my favorite, though, was Scythe by Neal Shusterman. I’m so excited for the next installment in that series.

    Like

Leave a Reply

