Tags

Merry Christmas!! (The Christmas Song Book Tag)

Merry Christmas everyone!! I haven’t been very regular lately, so I just couldn’t put up anything Christmassy this month (even though I really really wanted to) but today being Christmas, I decided to study less and enjoy a bit. So I’m sitting here watching old Shah Rukh Khan movies and watching Booktube videos when it suddenly hit me! I need to post something Christmas-related on my blog, and what better than a fun tag?! Also, I haven’t really done a tag in agesSo, here it is! (This tag was created by Hailey in Bookland.)


1. “You’re a Mean One Mr. Grinch”
Name a villainous character you couldn’t help but love.

27362503

Rile was clearly the villan in the book, but Colleen Hoover took us for a ride in here, first making us fall in love with him and then sharing the hurt which the MC feels. Morally, logically, I despised Rile but I still couldn’t stop myself from sympathizing with him or for finding excuses to justify his behaviour – this was such a complex read.

2. “All I Want for Christmas is You”
Which book do you most hope to see under your Christmas tree?

30075802   23513349

My family doesn’t celebrate Christmas with a tree or anything – we just have lots of cake and go outside for dinner – but hypothetically, if we had a tree and gifts, I’d love to see these two poetry collections for me! I recently followed Rupi Kaur on instagram and having read some of her posts, have been dazzled by her writing. So of course I want to try out her book Milk and Honey; I’ve also heard a lot about The Princess Saves Herself in this One and would love to read it too!

3. “Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer”
Name a character that overcomes major obstacles and learns to believe in themselves.

sy

Emily, in Since You’ve Been Gone is initially introduced as a shy, quiet girl who lives in her own shell. However, throughout the book, her character development into a strong, independent woman who can make her own happiness is heartwarming to watch/read. Her shyness might not be an ‘obstacle’ but yet she manages to break that self and love and believe herself all the more and thus, this book is perfect for this answer!

 4. “Santa Claus is Coming to Town”
a) Which character do you think would be on the top of the naughty list? 

3

When I read naughty, my mind jumped to Fred and George Weasley. For 7 books, the Weasley twins cracked us up with their humor and tricks, and who else would top the naughty list?

b) Which character do you think would be at the top of the nice list? 

17838528

Clark from The Unexpected Everything is how you define the word ‘nice’. He’s sweet, kind, cute, shy, timid, and so so good. I loved reading about him in this book (even though I wasn’t a huge fan of the book itself) and he was just a ray of sunshine in this book.

5. “Frosty the Snowman”
Which book just melts your heart.

19547856

Simon Vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda is the kind of warm, fuzzy book you always want to pick up at Christmas! It just melts your heart, the cuteness, the realness of the characters and its simple diversity.

6. “Feliz Navidad”
Choose a book that takes place in a country other than your own.

the_vegetarian_-_han_kang

Being an Indian, most books I read are outside my own country (which is totally my fault because I don’t read enough Indian books) but instead of going for a book set in the US or the UK, I decided to choose something else for this answer. The Vegetarian is set in Korea and tells the chilling story of a woman who makes a sudden decision because of a dream, and suffers its consequences all her life.

7. “It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year”
Which holiday themed book do you use to spread the Christmas joy?

15881

I’m going to give a very basic, obvious, no-brainer answer for this one : The Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling! And, this doesn’t need no explanation.

8. “Sleigh Ride”
Which fictional character would you choose to spend the holidays with (doesn’t have to be a love interest!)

untitled-1

Any of the six would do – they’re all my babies – but specifically, I’d like to spend the day with Nina or Kaz!

9. “Baby it’s Cold Outside”
Which book that you didn’t like would you sacrifice to a fire to warm yourself up in the cold?

15783514

This was probably one of the worst books I read this year – I wrote a ranty review – and even though I ended up unhauling it, I wouldn’t mind throwing this into the fire to keep me warm :P

10. “Do you hear what I hear”
Which book do you think everyone should read?

77203

How can I post a tag without answering one of the questions with a Khaled Hosseini novel? The Kite Runner is from a class apart – it’s brilliant, raw, sad and utterly beautiful.


Have you read any of these books? What are you doing this Christmas?!
2 thoughts on “Merry Christmas!! (The Christmas Song Book Tag)

Leave a Reply

