Lists

Most Disappointing Books I Read in 2016

Hello everyone! Today I’m going to be posting a list of books which I was most disappointed with in 2016. These are not the worst books I’ve read this year, these are just books I had a lot of expectations from, and they ended up completely disappointing me. I did read worse books than these, but these are ones I really expected a LOT from, and somehow these never reached my expectations.


Archer’s Voice – Mia Sheridan

32822135

Reading books with characters with disabilites is interesting and diversifying – but when the book isn’t backed by good writing, characters and plotline – no matter how diverse the book is, it ends up a failure. Archer’s Voice by Mia Sheridan is a highly acclaimed novel – check out the Goodreads page! – and I had extremely high hopes from it. I really wanted to read a book with a MC who is deaf, which this book portrays – but this book is one of the saddest attempts I have read at writing a good, strong story with a disabled MC. Read my review here.

Glass Sword – Victoria Aveyard

23174274

I enjoyed Red Queen (book 1 in this series) but Glass Sword by Victorica Aveyard was another level of rubbish and irritation. I had high expectations from it, mainly because I thought Red Queen might not have been that rich of a book, but it was entertaining plot-wise. However, the degradation of the MC in this book – how she became this really annoying, self-serving, drama queen – was the end of me and this series.

All the Bright Places – Jennifer Niven

18460392

All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven was a highly anticipated read of mine – and damn. Was it a disappointment. It wasn’t necessarily bad – it just wasn’t as good as people were saying it would be, or as much as I had been expecting it to be. The mental disease aspect was hugely romanticized and it was just a huge letdown. Read my review here.

The Glittering Court – Richelle Mead

27272506

The Glittering Court by Richelle Mead is one of the worst books I  read this year. It had so many issues and plot-holes and some of it was really offensive. The plot kept worsening, and it’s hard to imagine that the author of the amazing Vampire Academy series wrote this book. Read my review here.

The Ocean at the End of the Lane – Neil Gaiman

15783514

This is probably one of the worst books I’ve read in my entire life! – which is crazy shocking because Neil Gaiman is extremely famous and reputed. I have read some other of his works and quite enjoyed them – but this book? Didn’t work for me at all. Read me review here.

Too Late – Colleen Hoover

29610595

Colleen Hoover is my contemporary queen. She’s the only author whose new adult books I gobble up as quickly as they are released – and when I found out about this book – I was so excited. However, it really was a terrible book, mainly because of the absence of a proper plot and the excessive abuse. Read me review here.

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe – Benjamin Alire Seanz

12000020

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz is probably the most acknowledged, praised and loved LGBTQ YA contemporary novel out there. I picked this up with the hugest hopes, but the writing really, really turned me off. I just found it to be really bland and it did not connect with me emotionally. Read me review here.

The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi

25203675

I had the hugest hopes for this book because it is based on Indian mythology. The cover is stunning and the summary sounded extremely magical and interesting. However, this book was really, really bad and suffered from major cliches and tropes. Read me review here.

The Unexpected Everything – Morgan Matson

17838528

Now, this book is the only book in this list I didn’t necessarily dislike – but considering the fact that I love Morgan Matson’s other books and Since You’ve Been Gone is my second favorite YA contemporary, my expectations for The Unexpected Everything were real high. However, it was nowhere near as good as Matson’s other books, and I was just really letdown by this book. Read me review here.

The Problem With Forever – Jennifer L Armentrout

26721568

Back when I was a teenager and read the Lux series by JLA, I loved it so much. However, now that I look back to it, I almost cringe thinking that I had read and enjoyed these books once upon a time. However, in spite of that, I still had high hopes for The Problem With Forever, and this book was such a letdown. I disliked the story, the writers and it was so tropy. Ugh. Read me review here.

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child Part I and II – John Tiffany, Jack Thorne, JK Rowling

29056083

It wasn’t just me who had high hopes for this book, but almost every single person who is a fan of the Harry Potter books/movies expected a lot from this book! The majority ended up disliking this script/book, and thankfully this time around, I’m in the majority! I disliked the plot, the characters weren’t themselves and it was just a terrible attempt to bring back the magic of the original series. Read me review here.

You by Caroline Kepnes

20821614

love psychological thrillers. Considering the fact that this is probably one the most famous thrillers out there (and oh so hyped) my expectation from this book were really, really high. However, (and this might surprise you) but I DNF’d this book at 70%. It was creepy and the narration was unique, but the plot sucked and the characters were terrible. Also, I haven’t read much in the last two months and had been trudging through this book for over a month (because school sucks) and maybe that also had to do with how I felt for this book? But, all in all, I really disliked this book and didn’t even both writing a review for it.


These were all the books I majorly disliked and disappointed with in 2016!

Have you read any of these books? What are your opinions on these? What are some of the worst books YOU read this year ? Share the below!

 

 

12 thoughts on “Most Disappointing Books I Read in 2016

  1. There are several books on this list that I added to my TBR but haven’t gotten around to reading yet. I did however read Harry Potter and the Cursed Child and though I agree with some of your points you mentioned I actually really enjoyed it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ok now I’m scared! Most of these books are on my immediate TBR 😢. I actually really like You, even though I thought it was going to be creepier

    Xoxo, Rawan M

    Like

    1. Well opinions always differ and it would be interesting to see your opinions on these books too! So I encourage you to try out the ones you’re really interested in, even if the books are on my list 😊

      Like

  3. I’ve heard that All the Bright Places heavily romanticises mental illness so I’ve been steering well clear of it, otherwise it’ll probably just make me very angry. And I’m sad to hear you didn’t enjoy The Star-Touched Queen! I got it for Christmas and I have heard mixed things about it but I hope I’ll like it.

    Like

    1. I’ve actually also heard from a few people that Holding Up the Universe doesn’t deal with certain issues well enough, so I’m probably not picking that up. I hope you enjoy The Star Touched Queen a lot! ☺

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

