Wrap Ups

Reading Wrap Up (October – December) 2016

October, November and December were really, really hard months for me. I almost can’t believe it that tomorrow is the last day of the year, and in a way, I’m relieved. I was extremely busy with school this past three months, being swamped by exams and assignments and parents going on non-stop about marks and all the competition and I pretty much went crazy. I hardly read, but I did pick up some stuff so here it is!

29430788  22299763  1953  28693701

Faithful by Alice Hoffman : I received an eARC of this book from Netgalley and the summary of this book sounded so interesting; it’s about a girl who after a life of loss and pain tries to find herself again. Though the book did interest me initially, it eventually became boring and it was difficult to keep reading it. However, I did manage to finish it and overall, it was a good attempt but it could have been much better.

Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows #2) by Leigh Bardugo : I read Six of Crows barely two months ago and it was fantastic, mindblowing fantasy and I was beyond excited for the sequel. Crooked Kingdom was even better (if that’s even possible) and this duology is now my favorite fantasy series! You can read my review here.

A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens : I barely read any classics this year, and when I finally managed to pick this one up, it took me more than three weeks to finish it. That’s not because it was bad (on the contrary, it was an excellent book) but it was a dense, heavy read. Dickens’ writing takes time to get accustomed to, but once you’re into it, you’re in. I loved the plot, the intrigue and the characters so much. 

The Boy Is Back by Meg Cabot : I received an ARC of this book from HarperCollinsIndia for review. The format of the book was very fresh and new, it’s written in the form of emails, text messages, newspaper reports etc. However, the story is ordinary and nothing special, and if I hadn’t picked this up after reading a heavy classic, I probably wouldn’t have finished it. Read my review here.

28217813  256636371  249219541  20821614

One Half From the East by Nadia Hashimi : I received an ARC of this book from HarperCollins; with a premise which sounded not just good but really different and unique, I was expecting this book to be much better than what it actually was. Overall, this book was very poorly executed, boring and bland. Read my review here.

When We Collided by Emory Lord : I was actually pretty excited for this book because 1) it was very hyped when it first came out and 2) I want to finish all the YA contemporaries on my TBR shelf. This book started out well, but it fell into tropes and things I dislike in such type of books. I go into much more detail in my review here.

The Thousandth Floor by Katherine McGee : I received this book for review from the publisher HarperCollinsIndia, and was actually pretty excited for it. I was in a very bad reading phase when I got to this book, and needed something fun and not-so-serious to lighten my mood. I did enjoy the book,  but it did fail to deliver in quite a few aspects. Read my review here.

You by Caroline Kepnes : I DNF’d this book, and part of the reason for that would be how I read this over a really long time with many, many breaks but also, part of the reason is I just wasn’t enjoying it. The narration of this book was extremely unique but I got bored and annoyed with the plot, and I wanted to kill the terrible characters. Also, for a psychological thriller, and that too such a hyped one, it didn’t really pull me in/intrigue me too much.

27189194-_sy180_  22840421

One True Loves by Taylor Jenkins Reid : I finished this book just this morning, and was actually pretty disappointed with it. Though the summary on the back promises a phenomenal story, the execution is unimpressive, at best. My review will be up within the next couple of days!

My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Jodi Meadows and Brodi Ashton : I DNF’d this book and before you get shocked, hear me out :) I know this book is extremely famous and hilarious, I still could not finish it. That’s mainly because I was reading this in September and then I lost my ecopy of the book. I just got really busy with school then and never continued with the book. Last week I picked it up again but I just couldn’t get into it. I was just really uninterested and I feel the break of 3 months must have turned me off from the book. I do hope to pick this up again later on!


Those were all of the book I read in the last 3 months of this year!

Which books did you read? Have you read any of the books I mentioned? Share them below!

Leave a Reply

