Lists · Reading Plans

Happy New Year! ~ 2017 Reading Challenges and Detailed Goals

Happy New Year!! 2016 (for me) was dull, boring and bad. I had to study a lot, I didn’t have a good reading time and overall nothing really happened. Thankfully, it’s all in the past now and we’re in 2017!! I wish you all a happy new year, and my bestest wishes. May your 2017 be an amazing year :)

A few days ago, I put up a rather poorly sketched, vague list of reading and blogging goals I have for next year. However, I’ve been thinking and looking at more and more reading challenges, and have decided to set some definite, clear goals because if there’s any chance of me ever completing these goals, I need to be clear about them. Also, there are a couple of challenges I want to enter and now that I have a more or less clear idea on things, I decided to put up this post! [I’m leaving out blogging goals and specifically focusing only on my reading plans.]

1. The Goodreads Goal

I have set my goodreads challenge for this year at 100 books. I know I won’t get much reading done in the first three months of the year because my boards begin next month, but after my boards, I’ll get a break of three darn months. No school. No studies. No responsibilites. Do you know what that means? Unlimited reading :D Also, 100 books isn’t a tough challenge for me because this year itself, in spite of reading hardly anything the last few months, I still somehow managed 76 books. So I’m hoping that this goal at least is completed!

2. The TBR Takedown

I had this phase over the last 1.5 years where I’d buy books just for the sake of it. Just to own the book, which I ‘might just’ want to pick up some day. Of course, I did buy books I was (and still am) excited for, but my buying surpassed my reading. I have 50 books on my TBR shelf nowand I plan to get it down to 10 books by the end of the year. I don’t like to have so many unread books on my shelvesnot because it’s intimidating or anything. It’s more of a personal choice. When I look at my shelves, I want to be seeing books I’ve read and loved; when people ask me about particular books on my shelves, I don’t want to give an embarrassed smile and say that I still haven’t gotten around to it. I want to adorn my shelves with my loved books, and I’m done with buying unnecessary books. I definitely, definitely want to get my TBR shelves to 10 books. 10 books is enough options and variety for me to have on my TBR shelf.

3. Let’s talk numbers

In my previous post about reading plans, I vaguely mentioned how I wanted to read more classics, translated fiction, diverse books, Indian books and literary fiction but I realized that if I didn’t set a number to these, I’d probably never be able to finish these goals. So here’s what I decided :

Classics – 12

Literary fiction – 24

Indian books – 15

Diverse books – 40% of my total reading

Translated fiction – 5

The reason why translated fiction has a low goal is because I’m still not that accustomed to reading translated fiction, and in general, I dislike having to research books and reading them. Of course, if I plan on reading translated works, I will have to research quite a bit, and I’m hoping to cut down on the research as much as possible.

4. The ‘Big Book’ Goal

I was watching some booktuber videos the other day and I stumbled onto a video where the booktuber said that she basically sets a goal to read one big book every year. And…well, I loved the idea. I have quite a few chunky books on my shelves and trying to take them down year by year seems like a great idea. The book I’ve decided to read in 2017 is…

15350

I have this big bind-up of all the entire trilogy together, so it makes up this huge chunky book which I really want to read this year!!

5. Read-a-thons

I want to take part in 5 read-a-thons this year. I have decided on two of them :

-> 29th April, Dewey’s 24-hour readathon

-> May 8th-14th, Bout of Books 19

I’m also planning on the Booktubeathon, Cram-a-thon and Diverseathon (but I’m not sure of the dates!)

6. Reading Challenges

The last time I took part in a reading challenge was in 2015, and I really want to get back into all the fun this year! I’m so tempted to join all the amazing challenges happening this year, but I’ve tried to control myself and take up the ones I really want to join. I’ve decided on joining two reading challenges, and this way, there’ll be a higher chance of me completing the challenges :)

[I would LOVE it if you would recommend me a few books for the reading prompts/challenges below!]

2017 Diverse Books Reading Challenge

[I’m planning on 1 book for the first three months because of my boards. But you’re free to recommend more stuff!]

JanuaryStories based on/ inspired by diverse folktales/culture/mythology
What books I might read : (any Indian book would work for this!) Karna’s Wife : The Outcast’s Queen by Kavita Kane
FebruaryPOC/ Biracial/ Multiracial Main Character/Lead
What books I might read : (Again, any Indian book would work fine.) The Lives of Others by Neel Mukherjee
MarchDisability
What books I might read : Wonder by R.J. Palacio
April Mental Health 
What books I might read : Girl in Pieces by Kathleen Glasgow, Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn, Furiously Happy : A Funny Book About Horrible Things by Jenny Lawson
MayReligious Diversity
(I’m most probably skipping this.)
June and JulySexuality and Gender Identity
What books I might read : The Song of Achilles by Madelline Miller, None of the Above by I.W. Gregorio, Every Heart A Dooryway by Seanan McGuire
AugustNon Western Setting
What books I might read : (Any Indian book would be perfect here too) Reading Lolita in Tehran by Azar Nafisi, The KIte Runner and The Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini (both rereads)
SeptemberOwnvoices
What books I might read : The Colour Purple by Alice Walker, Americanah and Purple Hibiscus by Chimamnda Ngozi Adiche
OctoberIntersectionality
What books I might read : (some suggestions would be great!)
NovemberDiverse Retelling
What books I might read : Winter by Marissa Meyer, And I Darken by Kierstern White
December2017 Releases
What books I might read : (TBD)

2017 Read Harder Challenge

1. Read a book about sports. (Fight Club by Chuck Palahniuk)
2. Read a debut novel. (Behind Closed Doors by B.A. Paris)
3. Read a book about books. (The Shadow of the Wind Carlos Ruiz Zafon)
4. Read a book set in Central or South America, written by a Central or South American author. (One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez)
5. Read a book by an immigrant or with a central immigration narrative. (Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adiche)
6. Read an all-ages comic. (I need suggestions!)
7. Read a book published between 1900 and 1950. (Peter Pan by J. M. Barrie)
8. Read a travel memoir. (I’m probably skipping this)
9. Read a book you’ve read before. (The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini)
10. Read a book that is set within 100 miles of your location. (TBD)
11. Read a book that is set more than 5000 miles from your location. (Don’t You Cry by Mary Kubica)
12. Read a fantasy novel. (ACOTAR#3 by Sarah J Maas)
13. Read a nonfiction book about technology. (I’m probably skipping this)
14. Read a book about war. (Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys)
15. Read a YA or middle grade novel by an author who identifies as LGBTQ+. (More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera)
16. Read a book that has been banned or frequently challenged in your country. (TBD)
17. Read a classic by an author of color. (The Color Purple by Alice Walker)
18. Read a superhero comic with a female lead. (I need suggestions!)
19. Read a book in which a character of color goes on a spiritual journey. (Purple Hibsicus by Chimamnda Ngize Adiche)
20. Read an LGBTQ+ romance novel. (TBD)
21. Read a book published by a micropress. (Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng)
22. Read a collection of stories by a woman. (TBD)

23. Read a collection of poetry in translation on a theme other than love. (I need suggestions!)
24. Read a book wherein all point-of-view characters are people of color. (A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini)

[If you have recommendations for any of the prompts above, they’re more than welcome!]


So these were all of my final, decided reading challenges/goals for 2017! Hopefully, I manage to complete them at least partially and don’t make a complete fool of myself next year this time around, when I’m reviewing these goals.

What are your reading goals for 2017?

One thought on “Happy New Year! ~ 2017 Reading Challenges and Detailed Goals

Leave a Reply

