Lists

Series I Finished, Want-to-finish and DNF’d ~ 2016

So today I have an exciting (kinda controversial) post! I’m going to talk about all the series I completed, continued with, and DNF’d in 2016. Most of the series I finished in 2016 I even started in 2016, and they were so good that I had to go on and finish them. The series I continued with, I read the installments which released in 2016, and the series I DNF’d are ones which probably are not yet over, but I have no interest in finishing them. Let’s get started :

Series I Finished :

Shatter Me trilogy by Tahereh Mafi

picmonkey-collage

Ahhhh this series. Ignite Me (the last book in the series) was the first book I read in 2016, and it was the book which changed the series from good to amazing for me. I love this series, in spite of all the hate and the tropes, the writing is excellent and the romance is really good.

The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater

the-raven-cycle

I started the series this year, and obviously had to end it because the last book (The Raven King) released earlier this year. This is one of those fantasy series which has everything done perfectly – the plot, the intrigue, the magic, and that excellent characterization. Steifvater’s writing is brilliant and I also loved the book for their romance (especially the diverse one! Pynch is everything!!!!)

The Wrath and the Dawn duology by Renee Ahdieh

the-wrath-and-the-dawn

The first book (The Wrath and the Dawn) absolutely blew me away. The romance and the writing was everthing and I think I finished it within a matter of hours. The second book (The Rose and the Dagger) didn’t impress me as much but it was still, a pretty strong sequel and wrapped up everything pretty well.

Six of Crows duology by Leigh Bardugo

untitled-1

I read this duology a few months back, and since then, it has become my favorite YA fantasy series. Even though I had high hopes for this duology, however the amount of amazingness took me by surprise. The plot is painfully intricate and intriguing, the characters inhumanly human and so complicated, it made my head whirl yet sigh in pleasure. This duology is a masterpiece.

Series I Want-to-finish :

Firebird trilogy by Claudia Gray

claudia-gray

(Please let’s just appreciate the glory of the covers guys.) I never got around to read the last book (A Million Worlds With You) in 2016, in spite of having read the first two books in the same year. This trilogy is a dystopian about various dimensions, and the first two books were a crazy ride full of twists and turns. I want to get to the third book so badly!

A Court of Thorns and Roses trilogy by Sarah J Maas

picmonkey-collage1

Of course I want to finish this trilogy (no I won’t read beyond book 3 because what even) but I’ll definitely get my hands on the third book! I recognize all the problems this book has, but at the same time, the enjoyment and entertainment factor from these books is very very high. And, the same goes for the next series :

Throne of Glass series by Sarah J Maas

76e39-throne2bof2bglass2buk2bcovers

This series is equally problematic as the previous one but equally entertaining and enjoyable. I do enjoy the ACOTAR series a little bit more, but my experience with these books has been great too.

This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab

untitled-1

This is a duology I’m kinda tentative about completing – I’ll definitely look out for Our Dark Duet but it’s not high on my priority list. I did enjoy Our Savage Song but it didn’t have the hugest impact on me.

Series I DNF’d

Red Queen series by Victoria Aveyard

victoriaaveyard

Red Queen was fun enough and ended with an evil cliffhanger, but Glass Sword was a complete disaster. The MC detoriated to something completely horrible and annoying and pathetic, and the author relied too heavily on tropes to move the story forward. Definitely not continuing with this series.

The Glittering Court trilogy by Richelle Mead

27272506

This book was a real disaster. The story had plotholes, some of the concepts were offensive, the MC behaved in abnormal ways, and it was so boring. It was real trash, and so disappointing as compared to Mead’s Vampire Academy series. No way in hell I’m going anywhere near the next books.

The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi

25203675

I had the hugest hopes from this book, mainly because it is based on Indian mythology and a retelling of some sort. This was terribly tropy, insta-lovey, dramatic, and the MC was irritating af. I hated the book so damn much, I don’t think I even finished it.

The Shadow Queen by C. J. Redwine

shadow-queen

Another disaster. Another DNF. This was predictable, repetitive, and the same old fantasy story wrapped up in new characters. The characters were one-dimensional and it was just so bad.

You by Caroline Kepnes

20821614

I had the hugest hopes for this book, but my disappointment was actually huger. I had to DNF it at 70% because I just couldn’t go on. Keeping aside the fact that it is not possible for me to pick up the sequel without having completed the first book, I anyway would never think of picking up Hidden Bodies!


So these are all the series I touched (read) in 2016, some I completed, some I continued and some I decided to DNF.

Have you read/are thinking of reading any of these series? Do you DNF series? On which book do you typically decide to give up a series?

14 thoughts on “Series I Finished, Want-to-finish and DNF’d ~ 2016

  1. This is weird because I’ve seen so many glowy reviews for The Star-Touched Queen and the Red Queen series. It all just depends, I suppose. Personally, I read the first three books in the Throne of Glass series in one night each (only books I’ve ever done that with). I even stayed up until 7am with one of them. But the story just…what happened there? Seriously, Maas. What the hell? Ugh…anyway. Best of luck with the finishing this year!

    Like

    1. Thank you! Yeah well it totally depends on you as a reader I guess, sometimes our opinions are so unpopular. I was still okay with Red Queen but Glass Sword completely ruined it.

      Like

  2. The Star Touched queen was a disappoint for me too.But I guess I will pick it up again.I am thinking of starting the Raven Cycle series though in 2017,

    Like

  3. I think we are twins when it comes to books, there is so much of this post that could have been said for me as well! I LOVE THIS.
    I loved the Shatter Me series, and I only need to read The Raven King to finish the series and I am SO excited. These books are impossibly wonderful, and the characterization is unlike anything I have read before. I love it so much. and The Wrath and The Dawn, I fell in love with this <3
    I still need to read Six of Crows though… hopefully someday soon I'll FINALLY get to it haha :) And I also need to finish the Thousand Pieces series, the covers are GORGEOUS.
    I read the first two Red Queen books and felt the same way about Glass Sword. I feel like I'm going to DNF, but on the other hand I am a bit curious about what happens next…maybe I'll read all the spoilers hahahhaa.

    Like

    1. You really need to read the Raven King and the SoC duology!! The SoC is beyond amazing 😊 I think I’ll read a spoilery summary of the next book in the Red Queen series – there’s no way I can take another book about Mare but I have to admit, I’m a tad bit curious too 😁

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I love TW&TD and Six of Crows duology so much! <3 they're SO GOOD! I also DNF-ed Glass Sword because ughhhh like you said it was a complete disaster. I enjoyed Red Queen but everything went downhill in the second book and the only thing I STILL liked was only Maven hahaha 😅 I DNF-ed A LOT of series because life is too short to keep reading books I don't like haha great post! :D

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

