Meme/Event

Top Ten Tuesday : Books I Wish Had Less Drama in Them

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday (a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish) is all about Top Ten Books I Wish Had (More/Less) X In Them. For today’s topic, I choose DRAMA!! Because, why not? I thought a lot about what topic to take, and came up with drama because it’s fun + it’ll give me a chance to rant about shit books!! [Also, if you don’t know me, I love ranting about bad books it’s a delight :D]

[Please do not be offended if I bash your favorite book! It’s all about personal opinions, right?]

Clockwork Princess (The Infernal Devices #3)

18335634

This totally has to be one of the worst books I’ve read in my entire life (check out my super-long, ranty review here) because the Will, Jem and Tessa story was pathetic. Cassandra Clare’s stupid attempt to wrap everything up in a happily-ever-after, the overdramatic love drama of a bunch of seventeen-year olds, the brooding broken-past male hero just about everything else was so annoying to me. It was way too cheesy and dramatic and I was majorly letdown by the third book (the entire trilogy, actually).

The Selection

10507293

This is probably one series where the drama actually works – that is,  makes the book so entertaining. The series might be trash but it sure as hell is entertaining, but sometimes the drama got a but too much. I so wish this series had a little less fluff and drama, and perhaps a lot more sense and structure – then it wouldn’t merely have been entertaining, but also a good series.

Tangled

18297707

I honestly don’t even remember what this book is about – but I do remember the MC making a huge deal about what a player he is and it just really got on my nerves so much. This again, has to be one of the worst books I’ve ever read because it was way too dramatic and overall just trashy.

The Star-Touched Queen

25203675

The main problem I had with this one was the dramatic, flowery, over-the-top writing. It brimmed with metaphors to the point where half of it didn’t even make sense and the author tried way too hard. Also, the romance was cringy AF. Like, firstly it was insta-lovey but the dialogues were extremely dramatic and cheesy and so frustrating.

Eclipse (Twilight Saga #3)

6617862

Oscillating between two guys and taking a heck of a long time to decide on one has to be a talent Bella Swan needs to be awarded for. This book was the epitome of drama, and to be completely honest, it was also partly ridiculous.

Glass Sword (Red Queen #2)

23174274

I’ve expressed my hatred for this book a couple of times on this blog before – whereas the first book in the series Red Queen was entertaining enough – Glass Sword was a major blow with the MC being a drama queen and constantly whimpering about her ill fate and how everyone had betrayed her and how she’s a fighter. Honestly, this book didn’t need even a  fraction of those things to be a strong sequel.

The Thousandth Floor

24921954

This is another book which is defined by drama – it is full of high-school + teenage drama love, family, friendships and enmity. Even though it started out fun, the drama soon got too much and the book became dull.

The Problem With Forever

267215681

This book was pathetic. The MC’s constant description of how hot the love interest is, and all the drama about her broken past and insane love for each other was too badly handled. Important issues like drugs and abuse were poorly executed upon, and instead a major part of the book focused on the stupid romance.


So that was it! These are all books which, firstly, I wish I hadn’t even read at all. But I did read them, and I SO wish they didn’t have the unnecessary drama (usually romantic).

Have you read any of these books? Do you agree with me on any of these? Share your opinions!

18 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday : Books I Wish Had Less Drama in Them

  1. This list cracked me up :) Nicely done! And you get points for “then it wouldn’t merely have been entertaining, but also a good series.” I feel like a lot of people don’t realize that the two can be exclusive of each other.

    And if someone gets offended because you bashed their favorite books, that’s on them, not on you. There’s lots more in this world to be offended about than someone not liking your favorite book. Lots more.

    My TTT

    Like

    1. Thank you so much! I was actually very worried to put Clockwork Princess on the list because I know it’s a lot of people’s favorite book and how is has made them cry, and I was like ‘I can’t make fun of that!’ But then I figured that I’d just post it anyway :)

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hahaha, I’m loving all the snark this week! It’s fun to read. I definitely agree with you about the books I’ve read from your list. The ending of Infernal Devices was SO PATHETIC. Such a cop-out. I couldn’t even finish The Star-Touched Queen because of the flowery writing. I spent more time rolling my eyes at the cheesy and confusing metaphors than I did reading, so I figured enough was enough. I have to admit, though, that I was also entertained by all the drama in The Selection, but I’m not sure I could ever convince myself to read the series again. I didn’t read past the original trilogy.
    My TTT

    Like

    1. Thank you! Yes that ending was extremely bad 😭 Even I found myself rolling my eyes at every cheesy line in The Star-Touched Queen. Even I never read past the original trilogy, I agree the drama is entertaining, but there’s only so much you can take.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. A hundred times yes to what you said about the Star Touched Queen. Why was the writing so flowery??! It made no sense half the time! Lord.

    My TTT

    Like

      1. Joe Abercrombie’s Shattered Sea is drama free dark YA. The First Law Trilogy is his masterpiece, it’s not YA, but dark epic fantasy with awesome characters. Also Red Sister by mark Lawrence (coming up in April 4th) is non-drama, non-romance YA, set in an all-girls magic school environment, with assassins, political intrigue, impending doom, kickass fighting girls and all kinds of great stuff. I loved it to death and can’t recommend it enough :)

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

