Wrap Ups

Reading Wrap Up 2017 – Books #(1-10)

Hello all! How are you all doing? I hope you all are having a wonderful reading year so far!!

I’m sticking to my plan to not wrap up books monthly, and instead, this year I’ll be wrapping up every ten books to keep down the pressure of reading a certain number of books every month. So instead, there will be wrap ups for every ten books that I read!

Also, I’m sorry I’m not reviewing a ton of books lately, I’ll try to write reviews as much as possible now :)

Let’s get into the books!

first

Karna’s Wife : The Outcast’s Queen by Kavita Kane : This is the first book I picked up this year, and also my first DNF of the year (what a bad start to this year, sigh). I picked up this book because I had read and absolutely loved The Palace of Illusions by Chitra Banerjee Diavkaruni last year, which was a retelling of Mahabharata, and I knew that this book too is a fictional take on the same legend. However, this book is a major disappointment; the writing was horrible and the story focused on aspects of the legend I wasn’t that interested in.

My Rating : 1/5 stars

Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur : This is a poetry collection which gained a ton of hype last year and I read the entire collection sitting in a bookstore (it was that good, yep)! It deals with important topics and it’s extremely raw and real, and some of the lines are absolutely stunning. The only mild problem I had was how graphic the poems were sexually, I don’t think the book needed that, and I suggest you don’t pick up the book if you’re below 16.

My Rating : 3.75/5 stars

Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen : This is my first classic of the year! I loved how short and quick this was, and Austen’s writing is so hilarious and amazing (of course!) It doesn’t even read like a classic, it’s that effortless and easy to read. I really liked the story and most of the characters were great too.

My Rating : 3.5/5 stars

The Young Widower’s Handbook by Tom McAllister : I received this for review (via NetGalley) and was pleasantly suprised by it. It’s an incredible story of a man grieving the loss of his wife, embarking on a journey of self-discovery and new meaning of life. It was wonderful.

My Rating : 3.75/5 stars

The Joy Luck Club by Amy Tan : I picked this up on impulse because it’s based on Chinese culture and also because I’ve heard it’s kind of a ‘çlassic’. I absolutely loved this book, it was extremely informative and the aspects of Chinese culture portrayed here were very vivid. It is essentially the story of four mothers and their four daughters, and each character gets two stories (one childhood, and one as an adult) so that makes it a book containing 16 short stories. The human relationships and emotions explored here are wonderfully real, and I highly suggest you pick this up!

My Rating : 4/5 stars

second

A List of Cages by Robin Roe : This is another book I picked up on impulse, and oh my. It was so heartwrenching and beautiful. It portrayed friendship beautifully, and is written so very well.

My Rating : 4.25/5 stars

The Tenant of Wildfell Hall by Anne Bronte : This probably is my favorite book in this list; it was brilliantly written and boldly narrated. I loved the main character, the progression of the story was at just the right pace, the writing was beautiful and effortless to read, and it deals with some hardhitting topics. Highly recommend this!

My Rating : 4.5/5 stars

The Princess Saves Herself in this One by Amanda Lovelace : This is another poetry collection I read in a day – it’s short, quick, and hard-hitting. It deals with important topics, however unlike Milk and Honey, the impact isn’t that strong. Now that I think of it, I don’t remember a lot about the book, except that it was well-written.

My Rating : 3.25/5 stars

Salt by Nayyirah Waheed : Another poetry collection I read, and thoroughly enjoyed. Some poems had a much deeper impact than others, whereas some poems (I have to admit) I didn’t understand fully. Overall, it was a good read but probably not the best poetry I’ve read.

My Rating : 3.75/5 stars

Carve the Mark (Carve the Mark #1) by Veronica Roth : This one was a major disappointment. I got this for review, and when I finally did pick it up, I found myself trudging through it. The world-building, setting, pace, characters and the story – all were a major letdown.

My Rating : 0.5/5 stars


So these were the first ten books I read this year! I’m not super impressed by the books I picked up, and hopefully i’ll read more, and much better books in the days to come.

Have you read any of these books? How do you prefer to do your wrap ups? How has your reading year been so far?

11 thoughts on “Reading Wrap Up 2017 – Books #(1-10)

  1. I haven’t read any really good books so far this year…but I’ve started we were liars and I have a very good feeling about it so far! I really want to read the Tenant of Wildfell Hall, I’ve loved the other Bronte sisters novels, but I’ve never read one by Anne.

    Like

  2. I like this idea of wrapping up at ten books. I finished Karna’s wife, for me it focused on aspects I cared about although I have to agree, I’m not a fan of her writing. I also read a couple of pages from Milk and Honey. But it wasn’t for me. Glad you had a good reading month.

    Like

  3. I want to read both Milk and Honey, and The Princess Saves Herself in This One. However, not having read much poetry, I’m not sure how I’ll find them. I guess the only way to find out is to actually read them.
    But I’m sad to hear that Carve the Mark was such a disappointment. I guess this author has become a one hit wonder…

    Lara @ http://larawhatley.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

