Top Ten Tuesday – Books I Liked Less Than I Was Expecting

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday (a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish) is all about the books we liked less/more than what we were expecting! Initially when I read this topic, I got excited because there are tons of books (especially popular ones) I pick up with high hopes but end up being disappointed with. But then I realized, that most of those books, I either hate/dislike. The books below are books I like, some of them I even enjoyed, but not as much as I was expecting/hoping to.

25663637  17838528  4588  26156987  23308084

When We Collided by Emory Lord :  I liked the book but the impact wasn’t that great. Back when it was released, there was a huge hype about this one, and I really wanted to like it a lot. I was hoping this would be one of the few YA contemporaries which I genuinely love, but sadly, it ended up disappointing me. I did like the book, but just not enough.

The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson :  Morgan Matson has written two of my favorite YA contemporaries, but this book was way below here usual standard. I did like the book, it was cute and fluffy, but lacked the magic of her other books.

Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer : I wanted to love this so bad. I’d heard wonderful things about this book, but it did not have a lasting impact on me. It was sad, and I did like it but frankly, I don’t remember anything about it – which just shows that maybe it wasn’t that good a read for me.

If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo : This is an extremely important book – an #OwnVoices novel about a transgender teen – and I appreciate the author for writing this book. I did really like the book, and am glad I read it – but I didn’t love it. I wanted to like it much more than I did, but the writing and the story weren’t the best.

The Rose and the Dagger by Renee Ahdieh : This is the sequel to The Wrath and the Dawn and because the first book blew me away, I had high expectations from this one. I wanted to like it so much, but didn’t love it as much. I was just a tad bit disappointed, and definitely wanted more from it.

63341  248311471  21534051  10798418

Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro : This is an extremely popular novel and I had the highest expectations from it. Even though the writing and the characters were beautiful and compelling, the overall story wasn’t what I had in mind. I did really like the book, but just not as much as I was wanting to.

Go Set A Watchman by Haper Lee :  I absolutely love To Kill A Mockingbird and of course, when I heard news about the release of its sequel after so many years, I got darn excited. I did enjoy this book, but it doesn’t even come close to TKAM.

Still Alice by Lisa Genova :  I read this book at a time when I couldn’t completely appreciate character-studies, and maybe that’s the reason I didn’t enjoy it as much as I wanted to.

Why We Broke Up by Daniel Handler :  I’ve heard so many people rave about this book and just in general, praise it so much, but it was nothing special to me. I genuinely don’t understand what all the hype is about. I liked it, but definitely not enough to understand the craziness about this book.


So these are all the books I wanted to mention today! Have you read any of these books? What are some books you liked less/more than you were hoping? Share below!

16 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Books I Liked Less Than I Was Expecting

  1. I felt the exact same way about When We Collided! I like it, but I had a lot of problems with it. It made a great buddy read, though. I also skipped both The Unexpected Everything and The Rose and the Dagger because I was too afraid I wouldn’t like them, haha.
    My TTT

    Like

  2. I’ve been wanting to read why we broke up for a while now because I heard so many great things about it. I started to read it but put it down after a few chapters because I just wasn’t in the mood for it. I might just DNF it though, I can’t really see myself picking it up again…

    Like

  3. I tried reading The Wrath and the Dawn recently and I could not get through it so, I really don’t think I’ll even bother with the sequel once I finish it. Glad you enjoyed it though! When We Collided and The Unexpected Everything are on my TBR for this year and I hope I’ll be able to get to them. I’m really curious to see whether I’ll like them or not.

    Thanks for sharing your TTT. You can check out mine here: http://bookladysreviews.blogspot.gr/2017/02/top-ten-books-i-thought-i-would-like.html

    Elena @ Book Lady’s Reviews

    Like

Leave a Reply

