My ARC TBR (#ShamingMyselfTime)

If you’ve been a book blogger for any amount of time, you probably know what ARCs are – and also what NetGalley is. Well – NetGalley is where I receive my eARCs from and I love it. I keep requesting stuff (and trust me, the number of times I’ve been declined to review books is painful to me) but lately – I’ve been accepted for quite a few reviews! And that too, about books I’m genuinely interested about. So here are the books I received to review lately – you’ll be seeing the reviews of these titles on my blogs in the next few months :)

30137585

A Kind of Justice by Renee James : Okay the cover of the book is so intirguing. Apparently it’s some kind of a thriller but what is even more interesting is that it is a transgender thriller. I’m so excited for this one.

Against all odds, Bobbi Logan, a statuesque transgender woman, has become one of Chicago’s most celebrated hair stylists and the owner of one of the city’s poshest salons. She is finally comfortable with who she is, widely admired in her community, about to enjoy the success she deserves.

Then her impossibly perfect life falls apart.

In the space of a few weeks, the Great Recession drags her business to the brink of failure, her beloved ex-wife needs help in facing a terrible tragedy, and a hateful police detective storms back into her life, determined to convict her of the five-year-old murder of John Strand—pillar of the community—and a sexual predator.

As the detective builds an ever more convincing case against her, both of them will be shaken by revelations—about themselves, about their own deeply held secrets, and about the bizarre ritual murder of John Strand.


32571395

One of Us Is Lying by Karen M. McManias : This is about five kids who enter detention but only four of them return, each one hiding something. It’s a YA thriller and it just sounds terrific.

One of Us Is Lying is the story of what happens when five strangers walk into detention and only four walk out alive. Everyone is a suspect, and everyone has something to hide.

Pay close attention and you might solve this.
On Monday afternoon, five students at Bayview High walk into detention.
Bronwyn, the brain, is Yale-bound and never breaks a rule.
Addy, the beauty, is the picture-perfect homecoming princess.
Nate, the criminal, is already on probation for dealing.
Cooper, the athlete, is the all-star baseball pitcher.
And Simon, the outcast, is the creator of Bayview High’s notorious gossip app.

Only, Simon never makes it out of that classroom. Before the end of detention Simon’s dead. And according to investigators, his death wasn’t an accident. On Monday, he died. But on Tuesday, he’d planned to post juicy reveals about all four of his high-profile classmates, which makes all four of them suspects in his murder. Or are they the perfect patsies for a killer who’s still on the loose?

Everyone has secrets, right? What really matters is how far you would go to protect them.


30653853

The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli : I absolutely loved Simon Vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda when I read it last year – and of course I wanted to read this one. The fact that I got accepted for it itself is a huge deal to me – it was just SO out of the blue!

Seventeen-year-old Molly Peskin-Suso knows all about unrequited love. No matter how many times her twin sister, Cassie, tells her to woman up, Molly can’t stomach the idea of rejection. So she’s careful. Fat girls always have to be careful.

Then a cute new girl enters Cassie’s orbit, and for the first time ever, Molly’s cynical twin is a lovesick mess. Meanwhile, Molly’s totally not dying of loneliness—except for the part where she is. Luckily, Cassie’s new girlfriend comes with a cute hipster-boy sidekick. If Molly can win him over, she’ll get her first kiss and she’ll get her twin back.

There’s only one problem: Molly’s coworker, Reid. He’s a chubby Tolkien superfan with a season pass to the Ren Faire, and there’s absolutely no way Molly could fall for him.

Right?


31348237

The Summer of Impossible Things by Rowan Coleman : The summary of this book sounds a lot like something related to time travel – which intrigues me, but I’m also apprehensive to go into this book. Hopefully, the author does a good job of it!

If you could change the past, would you?

Thirty years ago, something terrible happened to Luna’s mother. Something she’s only prepared to reveal after her death.

Now Luna and her sister have a chance to go back to their mother’s birthplace and settle her affairs. But in Brooklyn they find more questions than answers, until something impossible – magical – happens to Luna, and she meets her mother as a young woman back in the summer of 1977.

At first Luna’s thinks she’s going crazy, but if she can truly travel back in time, she can change things. But in doing anything – everything – to save her mother’s life, will she have to sacrifice her own?


30753651

I Found You by Lisa Jewell : Thrillers and suspense is clearly a theme of this blog post – this book too is a thriller! This is an adult thriller and I’ve never read anything by this author before, but I’ve heard great things about her.

A young bride, a lonely single mother, and an amnesiac man of dubious origin lie at the heart of New York Times bestselling author Lisa Jewell’s next suspenseful drama that will appeal to fans of Liane Moriarty and Paula Hawkins.

In a windswept British seaside town, single mom Alice Lake finds a man sitting on the beach outside her house. He has no name, no jacket, and no idea how he got there. Against her better judgment, she invites him inside.

Meanwhile, in a suburb of London, twenty-one-year-old Lily Monrose has only been married for three weeks. When her new husband fails to come home from work one night she is left stranded in a new country where she knows no one. Then the police tell her that her husband never existed.

Twenty-three years earlier, Gray and Kirsty are teenagers on a summer holiday with their parents. Their annual trip to the quaint seaside town is passing by uneventfully, until an enigmatic young man starts paying extra attention to Kirsty. Something about him makes Gray uncomfortable—and it’s not just that he’s playing the role of protective older brother.

Two decades of secrets, a missing husband, and a man with no memory are at the heart of this brilliant new novel, filled with the “beautiful writing, believable characters, pacey narrative, and dark secrets” (London Daily Mail) that make Lisa Jewell so beloved by audiences on both sides of the Atlantic.

29482719

The Watcher by Ross Armstrong : This ARC I received as a physcial copy from HarperCollins India and this one too – again – is a psychological thriller. I’ve never heard of the author or the title, but I’m still excited to give this a try!

The Watcher is an absolutely addictive and on trend commercial psychological suspense read, with a captivating unreliable narrator and some powerful narrative twists. She’s watching you, but who’s watching her? Lily Gullick lives with her husband Aiden in a new-build flat opposite an estate which has been marked for demolition. A keen birdwatcher, she can’t help spying on her neighbours. Until one day Lily sees something suspicious through her binoculars and soon her elderly neighbour Jean is found dead. Lily, intrigued by the social divide in her local area as it becomes increasingly gentrified, knows that she has to act. But her interference is not going unnoticed, and as she starts to get close to the truth, her own life comes under threat. But can Lily really trust everything she sees?


So these are all the books I’m hoping to read in the coming months! Some of these I’m definitely more excited for than the others, but hopefully, I get them all done soon. I know that getting ARCs is really cool and of course I’m extremely grateful that the publishers send them out for free, but sometimes – just sometimes – it’s kind of like a burden. Especially where there too many to read in a short span of time.

Advertisements

6 thoughts on “My ARC TBR (#ShamingMyselfTime)

  1. Nice list! I have way too many NetGalley titles…ack. I did this thing a few months ago where I thought I wasn’t going to get accepted for ANY and so requested a bunch in hopes of getting at least a couple and I got 10. AAAAAHHHH! Excited but…omg, the pressure! lol

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s