Wrap Ups

Reading Wrap Up 2017 – Books #(11-20)

Keeping up with my decision to wrap books up this year per 10 books , here are the next ten books that I read this year! I’m a little behind on my goal to read 100 books this year, but I’m hoping that I’ll catch up soon :)

I more or less enjoyed everything that I read recently, though of course there were some disappointments. There was a healthy mixture of diverse genres that I read, and most of the books I read were diverse in some way or other. Also, I’m glad I got around to reading at least some new releases!

Capture1

Behind Closed Doors by B.A. Paris :  I picked up this book because of the insane hype it received last year, expecting a fast-paced, exciting psychological thriller. Instead, what I got was a poorly-written, cliched thriller which took way too much time to make things spicy and interesting. Read review here!

The Fall of Lisa Bellow by Susan Perabo : I received this book for review from NetGalley, and it’s an interesting exporartion of human beings in the face of tragedy. It’s extremely character-driven with a slow plot in the background, but overall I really liked the book.

The Girl Who Fell From the Sky by Heidi W. Durrow : I picked up this book mainly because I had to read a book with a biracial character (for one of the challenges I’m taking part in) and what I got in return was an extremely emotional, well-written story about a tragedy and its ramifications. Read my review here!

The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski : The Winner’s trilogy is one of the series I want to read this year. I’ve heard a lot about this trilogy, and picked up to read a strong romance and political story. I wasn’t too impressed with the book, however it was good enough that I’m willing to give the second book a try. Read my review here!

Stuff I’ve Been Feeling Lately by Alicia Cook : This book, I received from Netgalley for review, however I ended up DNFing it. It’s a collection of poetry covering various themes of life, loss, love, growth, self-love, etc. The main reason for me DNFing it is that I did not enjoy the poetry at all. I just couldn’t feel an emotional connection to it, and though I loved the concept of ending each poem with a soundtrack, the book just didn’t work for me.

Capture2

The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon : This book was absolutely phenomenal. The writing was beautiful, the story was engaging and this is the kind of book I most appreciate. Read my review here!

A Quiet Kind of Thunder by Sara Barnard : This is a YA contemporary romance between a boy who is deaf and a girl who is selectively mute. I loved the book for its realistic portrayal of teenage relationships, and it was extremely cute and insightful. Read my review here!

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas : This is probably (so far) the most hyped release of the year. Everyone has been talking about this book, and it’s well worth the hype. It’s an extremely important book dealing with heavy issues, and an emotional story is embedded within the messages and the themes. Read my review here!

Exit West by Mohsin Hamid : This is my favorite book that I’ve read so far this year. It was beautifully written, and the magical realism part blended very well with the heavy story. It’s essentially a romance between two people who are forced to leave their home country and migrate to another nation. Read my review here!

I Found You by Lisa Jewell :  I received this book from Netgalley for review. It’s an amazing mystery following three stories which come together at the end. One story follows a man who has lost his memory and winds up at a town by the beach, the second story follows a young girl whose husband has suddenly gone missing and the third story follows this small family as they encounter a strange boy who won’t stop pursuing the young girl of the family.


STATS

Total books read : 10

Genres :

YA – 3

Contemporary – 2

Fantasy – 1

Adult – 6

Thriller – 2

Magical realism – 2

Contemporary – 1

Historical fiction – 1

Poetry – 1 

Diverse books : 6/10

The Girl Who Fell From the Sky – biracial MC

The Winner’s Curse – POC MC (please tell me if this is wrong?)

The Shadow of the Wind – culture (spain), blind side character,

A Quiet Kind of Thunder – deaf MC, selectively mute MC

The Hate U Give – most of the characters are POC

Exit West – Asian country (suggested), characters are POC

Translated fiction – 1/10

The Shadow of the Wind (translated from Spanish) : Translator – Lucia Graves

Author : 

Female : 8/10

Male : 2/10

Standalone/series :

Standalone : 8/10

Series : 2/10


So that was about it! I added the STATS section in the end – that’s a new thing I’m thinking of adding to each wrap-up. What do you guys think about it?

What books did you read recently? Have you read any of the books I’ve mentioned? Comment below!

6 thoughts on “Reading Wrap Up 2017 – Books #(11-20)

Leave a Reply

