Meme/Event

Top Ten Tuesday : Things That Will Instantly Make Me Want to Read A Book

This topic is fabulous.

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme posted by The Broke and the Bookish where they post a topic every week and bloggers from all over the internet make a list of 10 things that fit the topic. Today’s topic is all about books which instantly make us read a book!


1. Khaled Hosseini : It’s a different matter that Hosseini completely stopped writing books after coming out with And the Mountains Echoed but even if I find out that a book has been blurbed by him, or compared to his books, that will instantly make me want to read it. Though I probably should also admit that when I find a book or an author’s writing compared to Hosseini’s, it usually makes me a little hesitant (because can it be really so good?) but still, even the appearance of Hosseini’s name on a book’s front or back cover will make me really intrigued in it.

2. Road Trips : Or books about travel, in general. I absolutely love travel books, and especially if they are road trips featuring YA or NA characters. And maybe this is because I personally enjoy road trips so much but even the mention of a road trip in a book automatically attaches ideas like ‘fun’ and ‘exciting’ in my mind about the book.

3. Forbidden Love : Will always be exciting to me. Books about forbidden love are so amazing because there is generally a lot of angst in them, and they can make you feel emotionally drained. I prefer it when the characters are Adult and in the real world (as opposed to forbidden love between vampires and werewolves, or any such fantastical creatures) – because real-life forbidden love is painful and riveting and I love reading about it.

4. Lawsuits : I love reading about court trials and lawsuits and investigations in books. They’re so, so, so exciting and I find such reads very addictive. In most cases, if the blurb of the book mentions any of the above, I instantly get interested!

5. Moral Ambiguity : I absolutely love books which have morally ambiguous characters, or morally grey characters. A perfect example would be Jodi Picoult, because in most of her books, she raises these questions about morality and right and wrong, and how complex human nature is when it comes to choosing between the two. Morally ambiguous books are generally also very thought-provoking, and I love reading them.

6. Heists : Exciting, thrilling and crazy (yep Six of Crows, I’m looking at you). I definitely get very interested when it comes to reading about heists.

7. Royalty : Stories about royalty, be it historical or of fantasy genre, attract me a lot. I just feel like books about royalty are so grand and they can either be complete fluff and entertaining, or really serious stories which make a mark (and thankfully, I like both the kinds).


So those were the things which are absolutely my favorite things to read about in books!

What are some of the things you love to read in a book? Or the things which instantly make you want to read a book? Comment below!

21 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday : Things That Will Instantly Make Me Want to Read A Book

  1. I forgot heists on my list! I love reading about them. Have you already read The Lies of Locke Lamora? That’s one of my favorite heist stories. I also love movies about heists.
    I don’t know if I’ve read many, if any, books about lawsuits. Do you have any suggestions?
    My TTT

    Like

    1. No, I’ve never read The Lies of Locke Lamora, though I’ve heard so much about the books! I would suggest Jodi Picoult books if you want to read about interesting, morally ambiguos lawsuits where you never know what the outcome will be. Also, Jeffrey Archer writes amazing thriller books and most of them had such good court trial scenes :)

      Like

  2. I don’t think I’ve ever read a book with a lawsuit in it (unless you count Harry’s hearing in Order of the Phoenix) however I love TV shows that deal with legal affairs. Just never found a book with that talks about that stuff! I also love books with morally ambiguous characters because they’re SO INTERESTING to read!

    Like

Leave a Reply

