Reading Plans

AtoZreadathon and Bout of Books 19 TBR (May 2017)

One of my reading goals of this year is to participate in more and more readathons and originally I was planning on participating in the Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon on 29th April, but I made plans with my friends and figured that I’d give the readathon a miss. However, today I was watching Booktube when I stumbled upon this amazing-sounding readathon – #AtoZreadathon!

You can find the details of the readathon in this video. The readathon runs throughout the month of May, and though I will be out on a trip for two weeks this month, I’m still hoping to get some significant reading done. I haven’t read too much since my board examinations ended, mainly because I’ve been out everyday with friends or family, but hopefully I can start reading full-fledgedly in May!

For this readathon, I’m going to try the easy level. The aim is to fill out all the letters of the alphabet with the books you are reading (you can use book titles as well as author names in this level).

Also, also, also : Bout of Books 19 is here! I’ve been looking forward to this readathon for a while now, and I have participated in Bout of Books (16, I think) before, and it’s so much fun! For those who do not know what Bout of Books is, here you go :

bob19-200x200

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda Shofner and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, May 8th and runs through Sunday, May 14th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 19 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. – From the Bout of Books team

This readathon has certain challenges too, but since these are optional, I’ve decided not to participate in the challenges, and instead just spend the week reading. So I’m pretty much meshing the TBRs for both readathons in one post . Let’s get into the books!

My Current Reads :

21936809 17333223

I’ve been trudging my way through both these books – even though they’re both amazing in their own ways – it’s just that I’ve been distracted with other things and haven’t been able to devote my full time to either. The Kind Worth Killing is a psychological thriller whereas The Goldfinch is an adult literary fiction novel.

ARCs I should probably get to :

31451082  30137585

It’s Always the Husband is releasing in the middle of the month, so I’ll try my best to get it read before May ends. As for A Kind of Justice, it’s release date is listed for October 2016 but I got approved for it this year, so I’m guessing it doesn’t really matter when I send in my review? Also, both of these books are psychological thrillers!

Other Books I really want to read (new releases) :

Strange the Dreamer came out this month, and after hearing all the wonderful reviews, I can only imagine how much I’ll love it. As for The Leavers, Into the Water and A Court of Wings and Ruin, all three are coming out on May 2nd, and I cannot wait to get my hands on them!

Other books :

I’ve been meaning to read both My Brilliant Friend and The Lesser Bohemians for a long time now, and it would be amazing if I could get to these books in May!


What are your reading plans for May? Are you participating in any readathon? Have you read any of the books I mentioned? Comment below!

6 thoughts on “AtoZreadathon and Bout of Books 19 TBR (May 2017)

  1. I always struggle with readathons as things get in the way – I do do other challenges though. I loved both The Kind Worth Killing and The Goldfinch. Very different books.

    Like

  2. Lot of reading ahead for you!! BTW.. congratulations on completing your boards successfully.
    We participated in the #AtoZChallenge of April (last month).. non stop blogging, and our theme was Bookish Delights. Needless to say, it was brutal, exhausting, never ending but really exciting. You should look into it probably for the next challenge. Really gets the creative juices flowing, as well as your TBR list would be dealt with with a faster pace!!
    Good luck xx
    Regards
    Pikakshi
    Readers of the Night

    Like

    1. Thank you so much! I love the idea of this blogging challenge – I’ll definitely look into it. Now that my boards are over, I have quite some time on my hands to devote to blogging and reading :)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

